We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
South
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not good”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I use travel lodges / premier inn's a lot for business as well as pleasure.
This travel lodge is not the best its tv's are limited to 5 channels ...yes just the 5 like the dark ages, the tv 's av option is also blocked so you cant plug in laptop, games console, phone, dvd player etc.
The outside is not welcoming, people hang around outside at night drinking swearing etc, sleeping on the streets . also the car park is not in the hotel its opposite and although my car survived the night unscathed, I would not leave my car there again overnight.
Apart from that there was a really odd smell in the 3rd floor hallway in the evening , couldn't put my finger on exactly what it was, but smelt a bit like burning (curry maybe) im not sure.

Pricewise the Travelodge was reasonable , but overall for an extra £5 could have stayed somewhere a whole lot better , the parking was £6.20 overnight so all in all I made a bad choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank IStayawayalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    76
    50
    25
    18
See reviews for
78
98
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A nice clean and comfortable room/hotel. Sheets clean and bed was comfortable. Towels provided and tea & coffee. Only one very minor thing, would of been nice to have had a small shower gel/shampoo and a hairdryer in the room. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This Travelodge provided Basic Great Accomodation at an extremely good price. Everthing you needed for a disabled couple attended by a professional and marvelous team of manager and her staff. We both felt supported and happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Whilst beds were comfortable and rooms basic and clean, the room was very hot and stuffy as there was a restriction on the windows and you couldn't open them much, there were no toiletries in the bathroom. The coffee and tea etc was literally one per person with no sugar, and parking is across the road in a chargeable NCP car park, Wifi is very expensive for the night so didnt use. The rooms are basic in decor i have stayed in cheaper hotels that are much more attractive to be in. The main issue though was the lack of ventilation it made it very uncomfortable to be in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clacton-on-Sea hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

No secure parking. Parking available in pay and display car park across the road (£6.50 per 24hrs). Reception not visable on entering building and can be found on the first floor. Reception staff friendly with a warm welcome. Hotel room very basic with poor views.
Stopped for two nights and expected bed to be made, towles to be changed and tea & coffee facilities to be replenished. This is not the case. No fresh towles, no bed made & no tea & coffee replenished. Probably ok for a one night business stop over !!
Not the best travelodge I have stayed in

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyandAdrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

windows were absolutely filty and you could see this from the front of the hotel and in your room, had to ring for staff as there was no one on reception, parking well there was none had to use ncp £7

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this Travelodge a couple of times, and needed to again as I was attending an event in the evening.

The price was very reasonable, and the room comfortable - especially the bed which was fantastic. The only issue I had was the TV size - it was on the smallish size.

It was quiet and comfortable, and my wake up call arrived on time. I found the receptionist to be pleasant and very hard working - a shining star!

Comfortable, and in a good location, but like any budget hotel one or two nights is enough.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Funkhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#8 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central

Property: Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
Address: 45 Jackson Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clacton-In-Sea Hotel Clacton-On-Sea
Travelodge Clacton-On-Sea Central Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing