We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Travel”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This Travelodge provided Basic Great Accomodation at an extremely good price. Everthing you needed for a disabled couple attended by a professional and marvelous team of manager and her staff. We both felt supported and happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    76
    50
    25
    18
See reviews for
78
98
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Whilst beds were comfortable and rooms basic and clean, the room was very hot and stuffy as there was a restriction on the windows and you couldn't open them much, there were no toiletries in the bathroom. The coffee and tea etc was literally one per person with no sugar, and parking is across the road in a chargeable NCP car park, Wifi is very expensive for the night so didnt use. The rooms are basic in decor i have stayed in cheaper hotels that are much more attractive to be in. The main issue though was the lack of ventilation it made it very uncomfortable to be in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clacton-on-Sea hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

No secure parking. Parking available in pay and display car park across the road (£6.50 per 24hrs). Reception not visable on entering building and can be found on the first floor. Reception staff friendly with a warm welcome. Hotel room very basic with poor views.
Stopped for two nights and expected bed to be made, towles to be changed and tea & coffee facilities to be replenished. This is not the case. No fresh towles, no bed made & no tea & coffee replenished. Probably ok for a one night business stop over !!
Not the best travelodge I have stayed in

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyandAdrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

windows were absolutely filty and you could see this from the front of the hotel and in your room, had to ring for staff as there was no one on reception, parking well there was none had to use ncp £7

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this Travelodge a couple of times, and needed to again as I was attending an event in the evening.

The price was very reasonable, and the room comfortable - especially the bed which was fantastic. The only issue I had was the TV size - it was on the smallish size.

It was quiet and comfortable, and my wake up call arrived on time. I found the receptionist to be pleasant and very hard working - a shining star!

Comfortable, and in a good location, but like any budget hotel one or two nights is enough.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Funkhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Having the seen the review and it says the clacton central hotel has undergone a refit etc. it still wasn't up to the standard of other popular hotel chains.
While the room was clean, and the bed was comfortable the welcome from the receptionist was minimal.
There is no storage in the room, but luckily we only stayed one night! There were 2 tea bags 2 coffee sachets and 2 sugar sachets and 4 milks. Due to a long drive, we were in the hotel room for the evening to rest, so having had a cup of tea each on arrival then a coffee after a meal out locally there was no tea for the morning. We went to reception to get some more but couldn't find anyone. The tv also had just 5 channels and the remote didn't work properly.
The family next door had children who we're running up and down and on 2 separate occasions other guests knocked on our door looking for their friends!
So all in all, whilst it was clean, it wasn't a comfortable and relaxing stay. This will defiantly be our last trip to travelodge as this isn't the first time we have experienced problems, but due to their 'refit' we thought we'd give them another try. But I think in future we'll pay a little but more and go back to premier inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review Kim H. We are pleased to see that you were happy with the condition of your room and bed however we are very sorry to learn that this was marred by the attitude of our staff and the noise disruption during your stay with us. We would expect our staff members to be polite, maintain a high level of professionalism at all times, and be welcoming to all our guests. In order to prevent any disruptions to our customers’ stay, we also require a night staff member to patrol the hotel at night to ensure that a respectable level of noise from our other guests is maintained. Please be assured that we will pass on your comments to the hotel manager in order to address the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

It's not in the nicest part of town and has no parking of its own, but there is an NCP car park opposite, though it's 24/7 payment. There is a very good convenience store a couple of doors along, and a nice coffee shop just up the road. The Travelodge itself has been refurbished so the beds are good and it was very clean. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoddyCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#8 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central

Property: Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
Address: 45 Jackson Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clacton-In-Sea Hotel Clacton-On-Sea
Travelodge Clacton-On-Sea Central Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing