We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Grosvenor House

Grosvenor House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grosvenor House
Ranked #8 of 13 Clacton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A very welcoming clean, and warm hotel. With an excellent breakfast to start your day. The rooms are basic but all have En suite, with plenty of tea and coffee.
Situated very close to the sea front and town centre.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Clean comfortabe B&B. Stayed with my family for 2 nights over the second weekend of this year. Very friendly reception, good furniture, excellent breakfast, all in all, very good value for your money. Will definately be staying there next time. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 6, if you do not mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came to Clacton for the day and decided to stay. Picked this B&B, as it was in a good location and it had a sign saying fully licensed bar and restaurant, which is what we wanted........to have a drink and a nice evening meal without worry of having to drive.Much to our surprise, there was only a small dark breakfast room. There was no sign of bar or restaurant as was clearly advertised outside!! Also, there was no provision of shelter for smoking outside, and as it was raining, this was also inconvenient. The rooms were clean, but could do with updating. I have given a score of 3 as the breakfast was in fact very good. Given a choice, I do not think we would stay here again.
Although this place seemed to be well situated for town etc... the pedestrian crossing right at the front, did disturb our sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have family in Clacton which entails travelling down from the north for family visits.
We have tried several hotels in Clacton but the Grosvenor is by far the best in its price range.
Arrival was quick and efficient and the room was really comfortable and spotlessly clean. A nice shower with water that was actually hot all the time and not intermittently.The full English breakfast was a joy to eat. Our accomodation in future will most certainly involve our staying at the Grosvenor Hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimHag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

This is easily the best value for the money. Nice room with nice decor. Its peaceful, and compared to other b and b's nearby its miles better. Nice breakfast as well. Fully recommended and I would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poltergeist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Really great location, worth paying an extra £10 for the kings room, massive king size comfy bed, massive spacious room, shower is massive! Breakfast was good too! The owner was very pleasant. Nice distance from where all the action is, but not too far... Only gripe were thAt the seagulls woke us up!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

BBetween the bed which was like a rack of torture and the screeching of the gulls I had 2 awful nights sleep. My Husband chose this place because breakfast was included. I won't be having breakfast I can't walk and am going home to see my Chiropractor! Mrs Carne

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Butterflyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.4 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#8 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House

Property: Grosvenor House
Address: 23 Carnarvon Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Grosvenor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor House Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing