We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Sandrock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sandrock
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was a lovely guest house, warm, friendly and helpful. Jill & Paul couldn't do enough to help you. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were spotless, very airy and comfortable. Enough space for everything even a chais lounge to lay on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon5359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    29
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
59
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lanzarote in the Canary Islands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Taking my parents away on a trip down memory lane i was nervous about selecting a guest house on line, but i should not of worried. This guest house is clean, very well cared for and the en-suite rooms are excellent. There is an excllent selection for breakfast and is all freshly cooked to order. The proprietors, Jill and Paul, obviously enjoy what they do and this reflects in the guest house as a whole. We visited in october 2011 and it was great to be so near to the sea and to the main town. Free wifi is available throughout the guest house and for those that are interested, Jill and Paul have put together a pictorial book of clacton showing the changes throughout the ages for guest to review at there leasure. I have no hesitation recomending this guest house. Excellent!

Room Tip: in a quite area so noise not a problem in any of the rooms. there are ground floor rooms for the les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here last night (24 September 2011) having attended a family party. The Sandrock is small, but spotlessly clean, very comfortable and Jill and Paul (the proprietors) could not have been better hosts. The breakfast is excellent and is served piping hot. The hotel was fully booked which also verifies its high standard. Parking is a little limited at the rear of the hotel, but there is plenty of roadside parking in the (quiet side) road on which the hotel stands. Our only regret was that we had to leave this morning. We will certainly stay there again and would most definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 which was situated on the first floor, front. No noise from passing traffic. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank transnati0nal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This guest house is clean, comfortable, quiet and good breakfast too.
just a small problem with parking spaces, but otherwise great for what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We really loved the rooms which both had sea-view and were bright and clean. We were given a travel cot for our baby which was great and there was enoug space to put our stuff.

I liked the fact that we could choose whether we wanted new towels every day or use them again to prevent waste. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice and very good and friendly service.

The only thing that might be improved upon was the fact that the rooms are quite bright early on in the morning (when the sun was shining) with no proper curtains to keep out the sunlight (though this might, of course, also be seen as a plus depending on what you like..)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Owners were so welcoming and helpful and the whole hotel was immaculately fresh, tidy and clean.
Luxuriously comfortable bedroom with being OTT.
The Full Engish Breakfast was extremely well cooked and appealing. Scruptious!
Very close to beach, but off the main road, and very close to all amenities.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howie0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We arrived here after a family trip from Denmark. The owner, Paul, was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area. The en-suite room was big enough for our requirements and very clean. It is a good base for visiting the local area. It is very near the sea front, but far enough out of the centre for noise not to be a problem. Breakfast was very good. It was cooked freshly to order. There was plenty of choice. The TV in the room was small, but if you're going away to watch TV, stay at home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
392 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#8 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cabana Guest House
Cabana Guest House
#4 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandrock

Property: The Sandrock
Address: 1 Penfold Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandrock 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sandrock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandrock Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing