We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a really nice place with excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sandrock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sandrock
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is a really nice place with excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

This guest house is clean, comfortable, quiet and good breakfast too.
just a small problem with parking spaces, but otherwise great for what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    28
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
50
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solingen, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We really loved the rooms which both had sea-view and were bright and clean. We were given a travel cot for our baby which was great and there was enoug space to put our stuff.

I liked the fact that we could choose whether we wanted new towels every day or use them again to prevent waste. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice and very good and friendly service.

The only thing that might be improved upon was the fact that the rooms are quite bright early on in the morning (when the sun was shining) with no proper curtains to keep out the sunlight (though this might, of course, also be seen as a plus depending on what you like..)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Owners were so welcoming and helpful and the whole hotel was immaculately fresh, tidy and clean.
Luxuriously comfortable bedroom with being OTT.
The Full Engish Breakfast was extremely well cooked and appealing. Scruptious!
Very close to beach, but off the main road, and very close to all amenities.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howie0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We arrived here after a family trip from Denmark. The owner, Paul, was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area. The en-suite room was big enough for our requirements and very clean. It is a good base for visiting the local area. It is very near the sea front, but far enough out of the centre for noise not to be a problem. Breakfast was very good. It was cooked freshly to order. There was plenty of choice. The TV in the room was small, but if you're going away to watch TV, stay at home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Excellent position...breakfast was top quality...beds were comfortable..pillows not the same standard.The room was a bit bright in the morning could have done with some thicker/blackout curtains.Spent two nights there and would be very happy to go back.Some parking space available off the road.Internet connection was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenaround2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
428215, Owner at The Sandrock, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thanks for your review, we do appreciate your comments. Apologies about the pillows, extra pillows are always to be found in the wardrobe or within the divan base draws.
Your the second guest in as many weeks to comment on the early morning sun spoiling a good lie in. I have to assume it's the new curtain pole we had fitted in the spring when we re-decorated the room, its lifted the curtain further from the window and letting in the light around the edges. Anyone want to buy a 16 foot bay metal curtain pole, infact two as I've got one for room 2 which won't be going up now.

Thanks Jill & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

we loved the sandrock,lovely room very clean,excellent breakfast,staff very friendly,felt very homely.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angieIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
428215, Owner at The Sandrock, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you very much for your review, its much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

very good service, excellent location to beach, pubs,bars, and town centre.our room was very clean,and very homely,excellent breakfast.we have been there three times now,and we will go back

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
428215, Owner at The Sandrock, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments.

Regards Jill & Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cabana Guest House
Cabana Guest House
#4 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandrock

Property: The Sandrock
Address: 1 Penfold Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandrock 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Sandrock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandrock Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing