We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“caravan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Before we could book in as we're in middle of traffic on M25 my daughter in law got to the site hours before explained that her father was driving and would not be able to speak to confirm he had booked the van Little Amy was very rude to me to put the phone to his ear ...she gave my daughter in law ..rude Ness when she went to complain when the caravan had not been cleaned..there were things missing which when told did not turn up ..even no teapot which I still use ....the site was great for grandchildren.enjoyed th he long weekend...

Room Tip: Make sure one complains if n poo t good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizdauncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Hi Lizdauncey

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at The Orchards

I’d like to get straight to the “ Little Amy “ issue you have wrote about , due to data protection laws ,we are unable to give accommodation to anyone other than the person whom booked the holiday ,unless an assigned person was agreed with us and noted on the booking . This then ensures that no mistakes are made here in reception and that your information is protected by us, If we were too give the accommodation to “anyone claiming to be a friend/ relative” without first speaking to you we could in fact be giving your accommodation to a stranger, an error we endeavour to avoid .I have never known Little Amy to be rude to anyone and we are very sorry you feel this way. Amy has asked me to pass on her apologies to you.

We take any complaints seriously here and most defiantly would have reported any concerns you had during your stay to the relevant team .We do not provide teapots but have had many requests from guests for one and so this is something we are looking into for the future.

We are pleased you did enjoy your stay despite the initial problems and you found our site catered well for you and your family.

We would like to welcome you back at any of our Haven sites in the future.

If you would like to discuss this further please contact us on the e mail below
orchardstripadvisor@haven.com

Kind Regards
Cat
Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 695 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited this park for a long weekend with the family and had a great time. It's very appealing for both children and adults. They have many activities going on through out the day and night so you won't get bored. The children absolutely loved it.

The staff are VERY welcoming and helpful. The security is very much alert around the park, sight of passes is always asked for.

All pools are lifeguard attended and very alert. They always seem to have a theme going on because every day the staff had different character uniforms on, you'd think is Halloween everyday lol.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay so we bought a Caravan at the end of our break.

Looking forward to go back there with the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank npalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Hi Npalla

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday here with us at The Orchards

We are so pleased to read that you had such a lovely time here that you purchased your very own holiday home, now we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back here many more times.

We provide lots of activities on park as you now know, ranging from archery to kayaking from fencing to aquajets , offering fun for all ages.

We are very pleased that you found our staff here welcoming and helpful and that security made you feel safe and cared for , providing proof of your stay here with us is important, it means we are able to offer you the security in knowing all guests here are known to us and we are aware of numbers.

Our lifeguards are trained to the highest level and as a family park we feel this is paramount to the holiday experience thus ensuring safety first.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon

Kind Regards
Cat

Holiday Eperience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Being a seasoned Haven and Park Resorts holidaying family, our recent holiday at The Orchards was as enjoyable as any of the other sites that we've visited over the last 10 years.

I am dismayed at the reviewers that have provided negative comments towards this site, as in the past, when we've experienced any problems with noisy neighbours, the cleanliness of a caravan or the site facilities, the attitude and service from members of staff, it has always been dealt with in a professional manner by the management team and to our own satisfaction.

This site is far better than the horrors that are portrayed in some of the reviews within this review site. Do people honestly expect that the site and its facilities should be in pristine condition everyday of the week then they are clearly living in cloud cuckoo land.

I do agree that the cost of the food and choice is relatively expensive and limited respectively, however food always arrived quickly and was good, hot and the service was friendly and welcoming.

The entertainment and the entertainers are there to keep the kids happy, which ultimately means that if the kids are happy then so are the parents. Don't expect a full blown Las Vegas style show, it just isn't going to happen.

Finally if you're the type of family that expect to be waited on hand and foot then maybe an all inclusive foreign holiday is for you; but be AWARE even these are not all they are made out to be in the glossy brochures or websites.

So if you're thinking of holidaying at this Haven site I would recommend that you do so, but please unlike others, if you're not happy with any aspects of your stay then open your mouth and get it sorted, don't wait until you get home and complain about it on this type of review site.

To the team of The Orchards; Keep up the excellent job that you all do, on a regular basis, keeping families like my own happy during their stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, always upgrade your caravan. It will make the difference to your stay and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Hi John B

Thank you for taking your time and leaving feedback for your recent stay at The Orchards Holiday Park.

I am pleased to hear that you find the team helpful with a professional manner. The team do work hard to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as it can be and I am glad that if any problems do arise they are rectified to your satisfaction.

I have passed your comments on to all of the team at The Orchards and they all will be pleased that you feel they are doing an excellent job.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Caravan wasn't bad site was dirty entertainment was very very very bad only stayed 3 days out of the week the carpet in the club squelched under your feet from last years spillages and the place stunk also note the site as only commented on good reviews and the mash and barrel was disgusting and well over priced rip off

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiger1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hi Tiger1987
Thank you for taking the time to review The Orchards Holiday Park

We are pleased to read that you found your accommodation was suitable and therefore trust it was clean and comfortable for you.

We are very sorry you felt that the entertainment was not good, as a family park we try to cater for all tastes varying the entertainment with a view to pleasing all, the funstars work hard to entertain the children early evening, and with acts on like “briefcase blues brothers “a tribute to The Blues Brothers and Lucie Jones star of x factor we here feel the entertainment is second to none, we are deeply sorry your taste was not catered for and would appreciate any suggestions you may have.

The carpet in the Live Lounge can get rather sticky as you can appreciate with the constant use it gets and unfortunate spillages this is a constant battle, we have scheduled another deep clean this week.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal in The Mash and Barrel, we are complimented on the excellent service and presentation of our menu daily offering fantastic value for money, the standard of the menu is of a high quality and is favoured amongst owners and guests alike.

We will endeavour to reply to all of our reviews good or bad as a busy office with new guests arriving every day, our response may be considered sometimes tardy but rest assured we will answer.

If you would like to discuss this further please contact us on the e mail below
orchardstripadvisor@haven.com

Kind Regards
Cat
Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A very enjoyable stay. We were group of 8 - 3 mums and 5 teenagers. When we arrived the reception at the Touring site was very warm and helpful and the lady helped us choose the best pitch. Pitch size was large and very convenient for the electric hook up, running water, wash stations and shower block. The outdoor pool was great in the sunshine and activities such as bowling, very reasonably priced. Bingo and arcades provided entertainment during the rain on one of the days. Excellent chinese restaurant gave us a break from more BBQd food! I expected it to be very noisy on the camp site at night, but quite the opposite. Poor weather on our second day meant we didn't try the beach or pitch and putt but when we return next year ( it got a resounding yes from everyone for a return visit!) we will definitely try these out. I'm not sure we would give up our holidays abroad just yet, but for a few days of fun without the Xbox and TV on permanently, I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ju2006essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hi Ju2006essex

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday here with us at The Orchards in Clacton.

We are very pleased to read that you all had such a lovely stay here and that you were welcomed warmly and found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

We have numerous activities on park for all ages and are so pleased you made good use of our Bowling Green and pool areas. We offer inside fun and games for those typical British rainy days and are equally pleased you found this of use during your stay.

The Chinese takeaway is a fabulous addition to the park and the food is beautiful having had this myself I know, reasonably priced and not at all expensive given the high standard.

The Beach is so lovely here especially for long walks and with us being on the coast provides some beautiful scenery to take in. Pitch and Putt is such good family fun and we really hope next time you visit you get the opportunity to play.

We look forward to welcoming you all back soon for a much needed gadget free break away

Kind Regards
Cat
Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have booked a haven holiday after being on their site and settled for a new 2013 caravan. Oh dear I spent around an hour cleaning the bathroom as the toilet seat was Stained with old wee stains around, also the showers and the sink had soap scum which I scrubbed! The sofas in the living /dining area were all stained its disgusting all over! Also the pool is cloudy and dirty and overcrowded! The entertainment is awful, just a couple of people who call themselves entertaining who only scream and make everybody scream louder and louder! It's hot and stuffy and stinks inside the entertaining area ! It felt like a gypsy camp ! Awful experience can't even find one positive ! The food is expensive and there is no choice other than papa John or the pub, and an expensive Chinese take away ! So we took off outside the park for evening meals! Stay away from this park ! Don't waste your hard working money here ! Maybe the British people should stop complaining about other countries and about being ripped off as they call it when they go on holidays as there are so many rip offs in the Uk! This is a major one and its called "Britain's favourite sea side holiday"

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nassy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hi Nassy73

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday here with us at The Orchards in Clacton.

I would like firstly to begin with a sincere apology with regards to the cleanliness of your accommodation, our team here usually clean to a high standard and so I feel we would like you to respond to this if possible, with accommodation address and dates you stayed so that we can look into who cleaned and retrain to ensure this does not happen again. We are deeply sorry that you had to spend some of your holiday time cleaning ,had these issues been reported to us here at reception immediately we would have asked for a team to attend and re clean for you, this is definitely not how we want our guests to start their holiday for which again we are very sorry.

The pool can get very crowded in peak season with family’s taking advantage of the school holidays, the cleanliness of our pools are a high priority and are filtered and cleaned every day, it is disappointing to hear you felt they were cloudy and we would like to assure you of their cleanness and hygiene.

The entertainment we provide we feel is fantastic and we try to cater for all tastes and ages, recently we have had pop cover bands, urban music skills and big time American wrestling and just this week Lucie Jones star of x factor, so I am sure from this list you can see how varied and very proud we are of our entertainment here on park.

The Mash and Barrel restaurant on park is a standard matching any on the high street and we feel the prices reflect its quality, with a fully qualified chef and team of staff who work hard daily to deliver an exceptional dining experience whether that be a full English breakfast or a Sunday carvery. We have Papa Johns Pizza and a Chinese take away which offer an alternative to inside dining, our spar shop also offers hot and cold food , we feel that this is a good selection of choice.

We hope that you choose to holiday with Haven again in the future as we would like to welcome you back.

If you would like to discuss this further please contact us on the e mail address below
orchardstripadvisor@haven.com

Kind Regards
Cat
Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you enjoy walking on broken glass, stinking wash facilities and surrounding yourself with the nation's most disrespectful rude and abusive people and absolutely no scenery then this is the place for you. The highlight was listening to the bar manager summon another member of staff over with his air rifle from the pellet shooting range as he wanted to dispatch two of his chefs. What an absolute dump.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richysutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hi Richysutton

We would like to take the time to respond to your recent review regarding your holiday here with us at The Orchards in Clacton.

We are so sorry to hear of your disappointment and the issues you experienced during your stay.

Can I firstly start with a sincere apology regarding the facilities and broken glass on site this is something Haven takes very seriously and is something we are looking to change in the winter period.

We are sorry you found the washroom facilities to be unclean and smelly, these are cleaned regularly and we would most certainly have cleaned again upon request, your comments have been forwarded to the relevant teams and we endeavour to inspect more often.

As you are aware on park we have target shooting a very popular activity among our guests, something which we also enjoy taking part in. I appreciate how on the day in question the men involved may have been overly excited and perhaps not completely appropriate for a family park, your review has been forwarded to the Complex Manager whom has dealt with this issue as a matter of upmost importance, I have been asked to forward his sincere apologies for any upset caused.

We here at Haven take your comments very seriously and we would like to assure you that these issues are being addressed thus ensuring this does not occur again.

We have many happy guests returning year after year we are really sorry you did not enjoy your holiday here and we hope that your experience does not prevent you from visiting one of our Haven sites in the future.

If you wish to discuss these matters furthur please contact us on the e mail below
orchardstripadvisor@haven.com
Kind regards
Cat
Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
2.4 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
405 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - ...
#10 of 15 in Clacton-on-Sea
888 reviews
3.6 mi away
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Pa...
#14 of 15 in Clacton-on-Sea
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven

Address: St Osyth, Clacton-on-Sea CO16 8LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchards Holiday Park Hotel Clacton-On-Sea
The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing