We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at havens, great time poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Came here September 2012 just out of season. It was nice and affordable we went for a 3 bed deluxe plus between 5 adults and 2 3 year olds . Caravan was big and well looked after and close to everything. We had a quick check in and staff were jolly . It was quite when we were there but didn't stop us having fun we enjoyed the swimming and the arcades . The evening entertainment was cheesy but we like that. Won't be coming back but are planning a holiday with haven in 2013 thus time in season

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poppabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 696 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went there last year towards the end of the season but still had lots to enjoy. Many activities for the kids and grown up. Their indoor pool is bit small and open only at certain times to accomodate kids fun activities. The caravan we stayed was nice and clean Only thing i would say is the window handles were loose and broken which made the caravan quiet cold .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asharam2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have been to orchards twice ,the first time my daughter paid for us to go for our 25 th wedding anniversary what a lovely place ,wild life,nature trails inlet walks and a nice / clean friendly park the weather was great on visit number one so that helped the out door pool the little pub it was all good the second time I went it was a bit wet (2012 say no more!) and the camp was flooded but it still was a great break the staff tried their best with the flood issue but as camp is below sea level the water could not be pumped until the tide was out!!! This does not diminish that this is a really nice holiday park and the weather is not down to haven the caravan was clean and this time I went on a sun holiday and only paid £78 so who's complaining ,not me I don't expect a5 star hotel so my advice to you is to look beyond the bad reviews as I would recommend orchards to anyone ok there isn't a lot to do if you go out of season but that's the same anywhere get into Clacton ,there's amusements ,pubs and restaurants there there was a bus service outside camp for those without transport that ran until 8 pm .
If you go to the back of the camp near the golf course end there's ducks waiting to be fed, a source of cheap amusement for young and old ,I have a great video diary of the increasing amount of ducks turning up at 6 am every day to be fed it started with one duck and by Thursday there was at least thirty!! There's little rabbits hopping around as well as the camp cat! Kids love bunnies a source of cheap fun there .
Try orchards it's a nice camp.

Room Tip: Try to get the best caravan you can afford,you get what you pay for!!! The cheap ones are a bit thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went on a Monday to Friday sun holiday last year, so we didn't get to choose which park to go to. Having said that we were very pleased with the accommodation, food, activities and friendliness of staff. We enjoyed it so much we are going back again this year!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarnya1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went for a planned 3 nights in late October. We were very disappointed with our whole experience. The pool area is tiny and the changing rooms are almost prehistoric and are very dirty. The Mash and Barrel was, as always, very busy and very dirty. We complained about our meal there and nothing was done and no concern was shown.

The weather whilst we stayed was horrific and for this very reason, we left a day early. I would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buglybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This camp is very clean and the staff pleasant and helpfull. we stayed in a silver plus caravan which was quite new and spacious.
The entertainment was very good and we enjoyed the rock and roll bingo, every evening. We ate in the mash and barrel and the food was very good and reasonably priced. There is quite a lot to do on this camp and although very large it never felt crowded.

Room Tip: Silver plus caravan is a must modern with an ensuite and we were quite near the centre, situated on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliecu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

after reading some of the stories on here about the orchards i was not expecting to much......but it was a great place, great park with very pleasent and helpful staff, the park is big but is very well maintained and very clean, our van was a starderd due to taking out dog, but was well maintained and spotless, the spar was very gud and the pizza and chinese was great with nice food, the entertainment complex was quite a decent size(i do agree the seats need a good clean) but everything else was great, i also used the fishing lakes which were great places to go and relax with good fishing and good fish to be caught, the man and lady in the lodge were very helpful for advise, overall we really enjoyed our holiday here and would definitly go again..............

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
2.4 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
405 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - ...
#12 of 15 in Clacton-on-Sea
888 reviews
3.6 mi away
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Pa...
#15 of 15 in Clacton-on-Sea
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven

Address: St Osyth, Clacton-on-Sea CO16 8LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchards Holiday Park Hotel Clacton-On-Sea
The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing