We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to stay awake all night come to the langtry!!”
Review of The Langtry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Langtry Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Reviewed June 30, 2012

As previous reviews say the bathrooms are minute the decor tired and need of tlc.position is right by the sea front and pier but alas is right behind a night club that kicks out at 2am!!!. If you manage to ignore the night club base pounding through the building and drunk revellers leaving you still have the wonderfull screeching of seagulls to turn you into an insomiac !!!! Do seagulls ever sleep!!!!!!!! That Will be my next Google!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trebletwenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for The Langtry Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 150 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

comfortable hotel conveniently situated tastefully decorated lounge with leather seating and marble tables (but staff dont hlep moving them so all can see new big tv for football as to bisey skypeing from bar to bar all of 4 feet )...........good old fashioned service at times stayed 17-20 june my room on 2 floor a solo room was v good clean and tidy .10 out fo 10 for breakfast delicious (OLNY THE OUTDOOR DEKING NEED GOOD CLEANING ) no need to go to the wetherspoon next door as bar is great value .am look forward to going back a s p .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idescribeasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the Langtry on the 16th June 2012 foe one night. A nice greeting on arrival. Staff very pleasant and willing to help with anything. The room was very nice, bright and clean. Breakfast was the usual cereals and fry up. Quick service.
Location was excellent for the seafront and shops.
Would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andytracy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Was with a group of 12 adults and have just returned from from here after 2 night stay. Everything was very good, but the en-suite is a bit on the small side but OK. The staff were very good, Hotel was clean and tidy through out. Breakfast was 1st class. Plus hotel is in a prime location only a few hundred yards from the sea front and pier. Parking can be a bit tight, but they have a deal with the big car park opposite if you are unable to park in the hotel car park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We've just returned from a 1 night stay here & were pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean, fresh and quite spacious with a nice bay window. The shower room is definitely snug but enough for us for a short break. The staff are incredibly friendly & helpful, the lounge / bar area is very nice & the bar prices incredibly reasonable. The location is absolutely perfect - only about 100m from the pier & a short walk to lots of bars & restaurants so absolutely ideal. All in all we were very satisfied & would definitely return if we were in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room with bay window - we had room 1.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spice05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed 1 night,very comfortable room (a bit on the small side as was the en-suite) well run small hotel in a prime location.Nice bar reasonably priced,helpful staff,good breakfast.If in the area would book again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14Milky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Went down to stay in March for a weekend away with friends attending a 'soul weekender' - Joe and Jan, along with the rest of the staff were amazing! So friendly, helpful, kind and with a 'nothings too much trouble attitude'.

Fantastic location - hotel 2 minutes away from beach and town centre and has parking facilities as well!!

Although if I am totally honest, the room was a tad tired - furniture falling apart - the beds were clean and comfortable so nothing really to moan about (some that know me may just say I am too fussy!) and the breakfast and hospitality far outweighed that little niggle so DO NOT be put off!!

We are going there again in 2 weeks time and have booked again for next March 2013 - What more can I say than THANK YOU Joe and all the staff for a wonderful stay and see you real soon! x

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karenlainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
1.5 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
0.1 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#5 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langtry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langtry Hotel

Address: 2-4 Colne Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1PX, England (Formerly Lyndale Lodge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range: $60 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Langtry Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to shops, beach and all local entertainments, theatres, etc. On site parking is limited so we can only reserve under special circumstances,however ample space is available at public car park directly opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Langtry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langtry Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing