We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was looking forward to our visit and it was not very good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dog & Gun - CLOSED

The Dog & Gun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $50
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The perfect place to unwind with a glass of something chilled and enjoy delicious, freshly cooked food with family and friends. Our food is cooked entirely from scratch using fresh, seasonal produce. We have selected a range of fine wines, beers and spirits to accompany our menu. When the weather is good, guests can dine on the terrace which is covered with huge umbrellas and super-efficient heaters...Ideal for those long lazy al fresco lunches! PS...Whilst bookings are not mandatory they are strongly recommended. Email reservations are not a definite booking unless we send you confirmation but we will try our very best to accommodate you.
essex
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Was looking forward to our visit and it was not very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We used to go to the Dog and Gunn before it was renovated and the food was really good. We fancied going for lunch over bank holiday weekend and we were pretty disappointed.
There was not much atmosphere and although there were two large tables it was not hugely busy. The service was so slow we only ordered a main course each and waited over 50 mins without anyone coming to apologise and when our food arrived it was just OK.
Felt like for the price we could have had a much better meal.
Wanted to like it but didnt really.
Ma give it another try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank granthannahbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Public Relations Manager at The Dog & Gun, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
It’s unfortunate that your first visit to us was a quiet one, Mondays do tend to be a little quiet but we are usually fully booked on weekend nights so perhaps give us a try again then when we can assure you of a really lively atmosphere. There shouldn’t have been a delay if we weren’t busy so I can only apologise and will ask our manager why service was slow. Please always say something at the time so we can rectify the matter straight away for you. Hopefully we’ll see you again on a Friday or Saturday night maybe? Best wishes, DGBR team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    94
    66
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Not the best meal not the worst myself wife and stepson went for an evening meal. Myself and wife had the seafood chowder which to be fair was very enjoyable flavours were well spiced but delicate, I had the 14oz T bone asked for medium but was over cooked, the rack of lamb portion small compared to other tables around us also slightly over cooked.we ordered a bottle of Malbec and a diet soda the later they completely forgot about, the serving staff were fairly attentive as position of the tables between the glass window and little wall made serving awkward for them.
Having said all of this we would never go on one not so great experience so we will return to see if this was a one off.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Public Relations Manager at The Dog & Gun, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, we really do appreciate the feedback. We’ll highlight the points you raised at our next staff briefing and please always mention at the time if something isn’t to your liking, our staff will try their very best to rectify any issues if they can. We hope to see you again soon – Best wishes, DGBR team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely staff lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We popped into this restaurant on the bank holiday and were impressed by the grounds and overall look of this restaurant. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was superb will definently be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlovegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Public Relations Manager at The Dog & Gun, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Great 5 star feedback! Glad you stopped by and see you again soon – DGBR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friday Night Dinner Date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I visited the Dog and Gun with my partner for dinner, after driving past the restaurant one sunny sunday afternoon and decided that we had to visit. From start to finish the experience was amazing, especially the staff who I would give top marks to. I had the scallops to start while my partner had the crab cake and for main I had the Piri Piri Chicken and my partner had the rib eye steak. I love spicy food and the Piri Piri Chicken did not disappoint. At the end of the evening the young waiter came over to apologise that he had not given us the specials menu and he was worried that he had ruined our evening, i can promise you that did not happen. We had a fantastic time and have told all of our friends that this is a must place to eat. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Public Relations Manager at The Dog & Gun, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with everyone, much appreciated by the DGBR team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic lunch! Can't wait for next visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I visited The Dog and Gun on a business trip and can't wait to go back. I had the seafood chowder to start which was delicious, very light and delicate in taste but also filling!!

I had the burger for my main which again was really tasty. Even the burger bun was stamped with a logo, great attention to detail! This was accompanied by triple cooked chips, which again were delicious!

I'm planning on taking my family for Fathers Day if it isn't already fully booked! Best restaurant I have been to in ages. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C, Public Relations Manager at The Dog & Gun, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Wonderful 5* review!! Thanks Vicky for taking the time to share your thoughts with everyone especially in this busy world we live in. Yes our triple cooked chips are naughty but sooooo nice! We’re delighted to hear that you’ll be back for Father’s Day too…see you then. Thanks again - DGBR team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog & Gun also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing