We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back Inn Time

Back Inn Time
Ranked #50 of 363 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: American, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

been here a few times over the last ten years or so and have always enjoyed it. the only problem is knowing what to choose as im not over in england too often ( maybe once a year). great buzz about the place and lovely food

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 422davidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    105
    54
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best at atmosphere EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I took my girlfriend and some friends to this restaurant and I was amazed by the service we received! The food was quick and sooo good! The staff were friendly and helpful, they even did a special birthday celebration for us. I would definitely go back again and I would recommend to everyone! The most amazing part was the atmosphere... We just didn't want to leave, everyone was having a good time and enjoying themselves, including us!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great quiet monday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We live in Chelmsford and eat out often. Tonight at Back Inn Time was so refreshing, the waiting staff entertained us ,very rare these days in restaurants and looked like they were having fun too! We are never let down, fab food and a good night, look forward to the next time.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Retro excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Regular visits (about 4 times a year) for the last 23 years.
Always a good experience and very welcoming.
Excellent for birthdays, the staff will 'sing' Happy Birthday on request.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank R66BRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
1 review
“Excellent, be back soon!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have always worked in Chelmsford and heard good things about this American diner, so last night I took 7 clients and I was not disappointed. As soon as we walked in we were greeted with a friendly smile from the barman. The frosted beer is well recommended!!! Our waitress (I think her name is kerry) subsequently took us to our table. The food was outstanding, ribs falling off the bone and portion sizes that will fill Adam Richman. Service was impeccable and all my clients were very pleased. Will be back very soon!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexMVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Inn Time also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Back Inn Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing