We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Just ok , nothing special my salad nicoise was ok but a tiny portion of tuna , the dressing was good but not French and no anchovies! We waited quite a while and were apologised to twice. I don't think I would bother again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SOFIE51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    22
    35
    97
See reviews for
20
31
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

A terrible,dirty hotel.lacking security or reception staff,no parking.very noisey,personal items,iPad,stolen from our locked room,management not interested.be warned.stay away from this hell hole,you will regret it.

Room Tip: Read trip advisor.stay at the south lodge hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The wanderer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chelmsford hotels

Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Clean comfortable good-sized single room with comfortable single bed and en-suite bathroom. Large wardrobe, bedside table with room light switches, table with draws and a 19-inch Freeview TV with remote, a fan/heater and a poof chair for sitting at the desk which had room for my 15-inch laptop to use the free Wi-Fi which worked for the whole weekend stay except for the last 10 laps of probably the most exciting formula 1 grand prix of the season in Hungary! I managed to catch the repeat at home the following day so no worries!

The maid service changed the towels and asked is there was anything I needed after my first night's stay and all the staff were helpful, pleasant and friendly.

Room 5 is an interior single en-suite room and had no opening window so suffered from the exceptional summer heatwave we are currently enjoying in July. The en-suite provided a shower over bathtub and was great and although one light did not work there was sufficient light to use the bathroom without problems.

After checkout at 11 am on the Monday morning before leaving for home I had a full English in the restaurant located near the bar downstairs for £5.50 comprising; sausage, egg, bacon, tomato, potato rosti, mushrooms, baked beans and toast plus Cafe Americano for £1.80. So a real bargain together with the £35 per night room rate for somewhere located in the middle of the city's night life and only a short walk to the city's bus and rail stations.

The Ritz-Carlton it isn't but if you want to spend you money on your night out rather than your hotel room then this is well worth considering as your basic clean accommodation located in the heart of all city's night life.

Room Tip: Room 5 is right next to the door from the lobby and the squeaking floorboards might be a problem if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougBowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
736 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We recently went to visit on a Friday late afternoon/early evening and didn't stick around for long.

It attracts all the wrong sort if people. It was packed with drunk idiot lads acting the fool outside and silly girls who had too much rose blush.

The music was at a level that I'm surprised was legal and the meathead security were as unwelcoming as the bar staff.

Definitely avoid unless you are part of the TOWIE aggressive gang

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nomadlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here overnight to celebrate my friends 18th birthday. When we arrived we were slightly annoyed to hear that there isnt any parking and were told to pay for the car park behind the hotel or go out and search for free parking. the customer service when we arrived was awful, with a very unenthusiastic woman behind the desk. when we got into our room it was clean but there was a concerning plastic bag over the smoke detector, the wardrobe was broken and the pictures were ripped off the wall and just put behind the wardrobe. The curtain was hanging off and as expected from a hotel above a pub, there was a lot of noise coming from downstairs. For around £80 a room we will never be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Totham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Middle of town, sitting on the high street.
Popped in for some lunch and the food was good service quick and friendly. No complaints from me, a great place for some food and a few drinks in the middle of town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

as a workman ive stayed away in a few poor establishments over the years and sadly this is one of them, the room i was given was in a very poor condition, the wifi didnt work, the tv didnt have a remote, i asked for a remote downstairs and was given one with faulty batteries, the room didnt have an outside window and as it was 20+ degrees that day was very hot and sweaty and it was difficult to sleep, this place would be ok if you were on a night out and just needed a place to crash but for the price i paid ive had a lot better hotels
on a plus note the pub down stairs is not bad and the food was ok

Room Tip: if you do have to stay here try to get a room with an outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sefuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 12 in Chelmsford
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
363 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracens Head Hotel

Property: Saracens Head Hotel
Address: 3 High Street, Chelmsford CM1 1BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saracens Head Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing