We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy but Nice”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a great stay, clean room, comfy bed and good price. Yes it is very loud (Saturday night) so bring your ear plugs, but good staff and a nice holiday feel to the place. The executive room was huge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMassinghams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    22
    35
    95
See reviews for
20
30
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A one night flying business trip to Chelmsford, and I was booked into this place by a colleague at work.

Having read a few reviews before I arrived, I was sceptical, and my scepticism became reality on arrival.

Check-in was painless to be fair, but then it went downhill.

The room was not very clean at a glance, but thankfully I had to go out straight away.

On return later (late on) I realised that the taps had crusty bits stuck to them, the basin looked like it needed a really good wash.

Given the late nature, tried to get to sleep and just put up with it for the one night.

Noticed little stains on ceiling, maybe mould, maybe something else? Who knows, tried to blank it out and go to sleep – beckoning on check out time.

Needs money spending on it, and someone who cares about the place to go around, and sort it out.

It wouldn’t take much – a bit of work here and there, a few bottles of bleach, and a few days cleaning and it could be okay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chelmsford hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at Saracens Head last night as we were seeing friends, we chose this hotel because the photos on the website looked half decent and from the outside looked good. We got the keys and as we walked up to our room our door looked like a row bar had been at it!! (room 14) not a good start. We went in to find the window opened but fell straight down so we had to take a picture off the wall to hold the window open! The shower head was awful as you couldn't move it and it just trickled against the wall.. In the bathroom there was a piece of paper stapled to the ceiling covering a hole! The draws fell apart as soon as you opened them and there was one coat hanger in the cupboard.. You could see a dark shadow in the lamp shade so we took a look to find a cookie there! The unit that the tea facilities where on was not stable, as you places something on there it looked like it was going to come off the wall.. We could not change rooms as there was no service at reception! When leaving in the morning still no service to hand keys back and complain so simple left the keys on the counter and left! Never to stay there again.. And Would not recommend as it is an Appalling and dirty place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancescaBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Overall this venue was pretty decent. Rooms bit dated but overall acceptable. Breakfast was ok clean and tidy. Location was perfect. Biggest problem with this place is its service level. No interaction from reception. Breakfast service was no smile no feeling of welcome from the team.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Was shopping in Chelmsford last Saturday and decided to pop into the Saracens for a large glass of wine and a bite to eat. The service was fantastic and food was delicious. The decor in the bar was nice and modern and everywhere looked clean (loved the wall quotes). I ended up waiting for friends and stayed a lot longer than first anticipated. Prices are reasonable (especially for the quality of service and food) would definately go to the Saracens more often if was more local to me, but will 100% be returning. Will also be enquiring as to bar hire for my friends 30th that's coming up as the bar area was just perfect for a party!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Out shopping in town with the other half, ended up at music shop to buy a guitar string which was opposite the Saracens head. We saw people sitting outside eating and smoking and we decided to pop in for a snack.

Ordered 2 club sandwiches and 2 larger tops.

We really enjoyed the sandwiches that were very tasty.

Ended up meeting up with friends and staying the night lol

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Popped in here news year eve while waiting for friends. Haven't bothered in ages after last two terrible dinning experiences.

Was dead.

Bar was cheap. Dj wAs fantastic played good music but no one was dancing.

Ladies single toilet was in a terrible state and the man using the men's loo was weeing in the sink coz of a problem with his single toilet.

Brought another drink to notice part of the fan was millimetres from falling on someone else's head.

Drank our drink outside smoking area all packed all way just table and stacked chairs. No heating.

Used other bar toilets to be safe. No toilet seats and door didn't lock. And the smell was so hoffic you couldn't not gag while waiting at the closed bar for your friends to come out the toilet.

Posters everywhere for free venue hire and you think well it's cheap so enquiried, sounded good till I spoke to someone else saying they wanted nearly £200 for a dj!

This place has gone down drastically over the years. Others said good value rooms for £35 but I was quoted twice as much.

If the eating and entrance area is like this I'd never wan chance sleeping there!

Last two times iv eaten foods been nasty to.

Please Chelmsford city get some classy places

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyewinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracens Head Hotel

Property: Saracens Head Hotel
Address: 3 High Street, Chelmsford CM1 1BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saracens Head Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing