We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where you can plan and reflect”
Review of Channels Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Channels Lodge
Ranked #1 of 19 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I attended a UPS meeting here it's my third time there, without normal demands and a slower pace you can really plan at a strategic level amazing amazing place. The location is just out of this world the fruit skewers were great thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

It was extremely gratifying to see the virtues of Channels, as an out of town conference venue, reflected in this very generous review. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 465 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Attended a wedding reception here on Monday for one of our relatives.

The atmosphere of the place was excellent and the standard of food very high. The staff were very friendly, efficient and attentive and the same staff remained on duty from the time we arrived at about 3pm right through until midnight which made for great continuity of service.

Would certainly recommend as a functions venue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

The recommendation contained in your review together with the kind remarks about the friendliness, efficiency and continuity of the Channels team are very much appreciated. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My nephew had his wedding here yesterday and I have got to say best one by far!The icing on the cake was the beautiful accomodation!The rooms were magnificent and each one had its own personality stamped on it!The service and the staff were excellent,couldn't fault anything,Thankyou!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmoffatBasildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

The Channels team would like to thank you for your kind review. The description of your stay following your nephew's wedding as 'the icing on the cake' leads us to believe that we had played some small part in the success of a very special occasion. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We hired out the whole of Channels Lodge accommodation exclusively for the night of our wedding (the actual wedding took place at Newland Hall) and it was absolutely amazing!

Right from enquiring to booking, turning up on the day and checking out the next day, the staff were very helpful.

The rooms are absolutely stunning, with chic rooms with beams and massive freestanding baths in the main house, beautiful modern rooms with ipod docks and tvs in the barns in the courtyard, a lovely large suite above the golf club and a great 3 bed cottage just off from the other accomodation.

Breakfast the next day was scrummy too!

We wouldn't hesitate booking this again or recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

The Channels team were delighted to read that both you and your guests had thought well of your stay and that this had enhanced the very special occasion which you were here to celebrate. We should like to wish you all the best for the future and hope that you may bear us in mind when considering your anniversary. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

An arrival we received a friendly and efficient welcome and check in precedure in the main building which was incredbily nice, very good attention to detail and all quality, we actually stayed in the converted barns section, i think 4-6 in total and again the quality shone through. Very quiet very clean and a geniunely pleasant place to be, lovely bed, furnishings and bathroom.
Overall the stay was perfect aside two things, one was the rowdy wedding party but that wasnt an issue and you can forgive that being the occasion it was and the exit wasnt as friendly as the entry but aside that a lovely place.
The pub on the grounds had amazing gardens and was a nice place to eat and also drink, if your into golfing this would be an ideal stop for you also as the course looked good.
Can recommend, just wish the departure matched the arrival level of friendliness and service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James Eade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

In saying thank you for your very kind review I feel I must apologise for the fact that your departure was somewhat less pleasant than your arrival. I should, therefore, welcome an opportunity to make amends on a future visit which I hope may not be too long delayed.Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Arrived very early with luggage to offload, no problem. It was left in our room while we had family commitments in Chelmsford. In the early evening we returned to find everything ready and waiting. The golf clubhouse was very close with a bar and restaurant. Staff friendly and helpful. The site is a busy venue for conferences, marriages and dinner dances but this does not intrude on the peace and quiet of the excellently appointed rooms. Breakfast is cooked to order and delicious. We shall return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendanMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We are always very grateful to our guests who take the trouble to post a review.
If, like this one, they are complimentary then, of course, we are delighted but even those, fortunately very few, that are less favourable help us to put right anything which might detract from the high standard of service we are anxious to provide. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had previously stayed at Channels lodge - Aspen Suite, opting this time to stay in Pine. On arrival we received a friendly and efficient welcome and shown to the room, which was situated on the nearby courtyard. As i was collecting my luggage from the car I was met by the manager, Simon, who remembered us from our previous visit.
The room was first class - good facilities, clean & well decorated. Bath robes were provided and in addition to the usual tea and instant coffee there was also a cafetiere and fresh coffee. The milk was fresh and kept in the fridge. Excellent Wi-Fi connection.
The restaurant is situated in the golf clubhouse - a good selection at reasonable prices. The fried breakfast was cooked to order.
We are not golfers, but despite this we did not feel out of place.
Will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nashdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

A returning guest may be seen as a compliment and the Channels team are always delighted to welcome back those who have stayed with us before. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
4.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
2.9 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
442 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
376 reviews
7.8 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 11 in Chelmsford
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channels Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channels Lodge

Address: Belsteads Farm Lane | Little Waltham, Chelmsford CM3 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range: $130 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channels Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channels Lodge is one of the finest Hotels in Chelmsford, surrounded by the golf course, this beautifully converted 15th Century Tudor house is an ideal place for a business traveller to stay or wedding hotel near Chelmsford city centre. The hotel has 17 spacious guest rooms which have been individually designed and equipped to the highest standards combining the finest of the old with the finest of the new. Each room is decorated stylishly, some in mind for business man and business women and others designed in consideration for romantic breaks. There are two restaurants within the grounds of Channels both are renowned for their excellent food and friendly service. Bar snacks can also be purchased from the Club House. The hotel is situated close to the A12 between Chelmsford (2 miles) and Colchester (25 miles) and with Stansted Airport only 20 minutes away, makes Channels Lodge in the heart of the Essex countryside, a perfect location for both business and pleasure. Free parking when traveling to and from Stansted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Channels Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channels Hotel Chelmsford
Channels Lodge Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing