We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms”
Review of Channels Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Channels Lodge
Ranked #1 of 19 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my wedding. We had all the rooms booked and everyone commented on how lovely the rooms are.
My husband and I stayed in hazel suite and it was lovely. Huge room with massive soft bed with feather pillows and duvet. Also a sofa and dressing table.
Negatives: no shampoo. Plug sockets are in odd places. Plug in bath was broken and along broke my nail trying to dig out the plug so I could drain the bath - not the stress you new the night before your wedding lol
Breakfast in the club house was nice - scrambled eggs were quite watery though.
Staff were friendly and always said hello.
Wedding was perfect - anything you need doing the wedding staff will do exactly what you want.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_kelly_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Despite a broken plug (now replaced) and missing shampoo for which I can only apologise your five star review was very gracious and much appreciated by all at Channels who helped to make your special day a very happy occasion. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 479 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for a night when I had to stay in Chelmsford for work. It is very quiet and restful - a big comfortable bed with spotless linen, towels, robes, slippers etc. Flat screen tv, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities were all good and the bathroom was simply lovely with central large bath and views over surrounding golf course. Excellent, comfortable facilities.
The only minor gripes are that the cold water seemed to run a little warm (I said minor!) and those of you who are tall should request a room with good headroom - the staircase up to the room in 'Birch' has quite low headroom.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grace297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

It was great to hear that our facilities had found favour and that you had enjoyed your stay at Channels Lodge. I hope that we may welcome you back in the very near future. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I spent two nights here after my wedding in nearby Newland Hall. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite, which had a beautiful comfy bed and a stunning bathroom. It was very large, and felt very special. The only issue we had were the low beams, which had no warnings, and so my husband and I bumped our heads a fair few times quite hard. Not a big problem though!! We hired out the whole place, and we didn't run into a single problem, despite this large group booking. All of the rooms were spotless, and beautifully decorated. Dinner the night before the wedding was lovely. The breakfasts were also delicious, and there was plenty. We had a walk around the golf course before dinner one night which was very nice. I could not fault our stay, and I am sure we will come back when we've paid off the wedding!! If we had known about the wedding facilities here, we probably would have booked this venue!! I highly recommend Channels!!

Room Tip: Go for the honeymoon suite and treat yourself!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

The Channels team are very appreciative of the nice things you have to say about us while taking seriously your observations concerning the low beams inherent in a 15th century building. Thought, however, is being given to posting a cautionary notice to ensure that a stay at Channels Lodge is always a pleasure but never a 'headache'. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for husbands birthday

After such amazing stays for our wedding night & my birthday we thought we would stay here again, we have always stayed in the oak suite, which can't be faulted. Beautiful, romantic and even though we only stayed for one night this time we both felt incredibly relaxed.

Breakfast was lovely very tasty and despite the unexpected flurry of snow on the morning we were there everyone was in, food prepared and service was 100%

Simon and his staff at the lodge are amazing and looked after our every need, as always.

We will definitely be returning! :)

Mr & Mrs Bradley-Witherick

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsgjb-Witherick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

In thanking you for the very generous review following your third successful visit to Channels Lodge I guess one could say that the team had scored a hat-trick. We look forward to welcoming you back. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Four of us decided to meet up after 10 years apart. We came from opposite ends of the country to be together and we were given the opportunity to stay in the Cottage at Channels. It was perfect in every way. We were able to spend our precious time together in the most serene and beautiful setting. The Cottage decor, furnishings and equipment are all of a very high standard and we felt totally relaxed and happy to be there. All members of the Channels staff were warm, friendly and caring. We were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble for them. The food in the restaurant was excellent, with plenty of choice and a very professional service. So thank you Channels Staff for helping to make our reunion such a happy and memorable one. We are all determined to meet again next year at the same venue.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the Cottage - it's fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatriciaH788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

This is the first review that Channels Cottage has received and the team and I could not have asked for a more favourable one. We are delighted that your reunion was a success and we look forward to welcoming you back in a year's time when we shall do our best to maintain the high standard you describe. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We got married on Saturday 4 May 2013.
We had a small informal reception for 10 people held in the "Trophy Room"
The food was amazing. The staff couldn't be more helpful but were also not fussing so created a very relaxed atmosphere.
When the families departed we retreated to the Hazel Suite - and wow! Huge room, huge bed, large bathroom with free standing two person bath and rain shower.
Beautiful grounds and the beautiful room were the backdrop for some of the pictures.
In the evening we chilled in the bar with some snacks looking out over the lit terrace.
Breakfast was very nice.
My review really doesn't do the place justice - it really was the cherry on the top of an amazing day :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

The Channels team love to receive a good review but never more so than following a wedding and we should like to congratulate you both and wish you a long and very happy life together. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked our wedding at Channels, Essex Barn and rooms for our guests at Channels Lodge. We had the honeymoon 'Oak' suite which has an enormous bathroom and bedroom. It was ideal for getting ready on the morning of the wedding with loads of room for me and the girls to get ready. All rooms are decorated and maintained to a high standard and each one uniquely finished and we had the whole 6 rooms in the lodge for the wedding party. The beds are huge and very comfortable. with a short walk to the Essex barn for the wedding it was the perfect venue for our special day which was topped off by the personal and professional service of the staff at channels. Nothing was too much trouble and they made the day special for us with a warm and friendly service. Even though they are busy with a wedding the next day they made me feel unhurried and that our day was important to them.

I can't find a single thing to comment on in a negative way the grounds were manicured and the reception is where we took some lovely photo's before the wedding.

The food and venue were amazing to make our wedding the perfect day we wished for. My thanks to all at channels and Channels Lodge definitely recommend to all.

Room Tip: Oak and Chestnut in the lodge have roll top bath but all rooms can be viewed on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pln_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

We at Channels have long recognized that weddings are extremely important occasions and we are delighted that you and your guests felt that we has contributed to the success of your own very special day. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
3.2 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
4.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
435 reviews
2.9 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#5 of 10 in Chelmsford
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
6.7 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Margaretting
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channels Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channels Lodge

Address: Belsteads Farm Lane | Little Waltham, Chelmsford CM3 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range: $130 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channels Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channels Lodge is one of the finest Hotels in Chelmsford, surrounded by the golf course, this beautifully converted 15th Century Tudor house is an ideal place for a business traveller to stay or wedding hotel near Chelmsford city centre. The hotel has 17 spacious guest rooms which have been individually designed and equipped to the highest standards combining the finest of the old with the finest of the new. Each room is decorated stylishly, some in mind for business man and business women and others designed in consideration for romantic breaks. There are two restaurants within the grounds of Channels both are renowned for their excellent food and friendly service. Bar snacks can also be purchased from the Club House. The hotel is situated close to the A12 between Chelmsford (2 miles) and Colchester (25 miles) and with Stansted Airport only 20 minutes away, makes Channels Lodge in the heart of the Essex countryside, a perfect location for both business and pleasure. Free parking when traveling to and from Stansted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Channels Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channels Hotel Chelmsford
Channels Lodge Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing