We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Channels Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The County Hotel(Chelmsford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Pontlands Park(Great Baddow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveler rating
436
52
5
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
436
52
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cluboak suitehoneymoon suitethe barnlow beamsholly roomfree standing bathwell stocked mini barunderfloor heatingbeautiful place to stayamazing roomfresh milkwedding nightwedding venueroll top bathlittle toucheshuge bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 501 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked one night in the Yew Executive Suite. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful as they recommended a brilliant pub, "The square and compasses," for dinner about 10 minutes drive from the hotel, which we loved. The decor in our room was stunning and the bathroom was not only beautiful but spotless! The bed was also sensational, not only HUGE but so comfy! We just about managed to drag ourselves out of bed for a great breakfast. We had a superb time, I will definatley come back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Now that our children are old enough to be left alone for the weekend, when we were invited to a party in Chelmsford we decided to enjoy the night and make a weekend of it. And what a great weekend we had. The moment we arrived at channels lodge the staff were welcoming and friendly. The room was stunning with beautiful furnishings and lovely features. A shame it was only one. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Having looked at a few highly rated Hotels in Chelmsford I decided on Channels Lodge, as our stay coincide with our anniversary we made it a special occasion. When we arrived we were greeted by a very helpful lady nothing was to much trouble. Afther being shown our room which was amazing,fantastic decor everything we needed and more, we ventured over to the restaurant lovely old building fantastic log fire. The whole place was like a Christmas advert on the tv really good food attentive service but not over the top. Before I forget the bed was the best I have ever slept in. In the morning we had a well cooked breakfast, followed by a walk around the grounds so glad we did. Channels Lodge really is the best Hotel we have stayed in not big just lovely we have now booked for our next anniversary.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pheobe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Working away from home on business can often mean a night away in a generic looking hotel room, however, this is not the case @ Channels Lodge as each room has been individually styled and offers its own homely feel about it! The beds are all very comfortable and the millions of pillows allow for a great night's sleep!! As a business traveller, the rooms offer everything you need; desk space, tea/coffee, iron and ironing board, however, the ipod docks and mini-bar facilities mean the rooms will appeal to all types of visitors!
For the sportier guest.. Channels Lodge offers free gym facilities at the nearby David Lloyd gym and is built around the beautiful Channels Golf course!
I'd recommend Channels over any hotel in the area for those looking to stay in the area..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great hotel. All rooms are really well decorated, lovely bathrooms and the beds are superb. I stay regularly on business and it is always a great night sleep. Good and friendly bar restaurant as well.

Room Tip: Some rooms have larger bathrooms with roll-top baths.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews