We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oakland Hotel Ltd
Ranked #12 of 20 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great place to stay!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Ive just stayed at oakland on a saturday night with my mother.we was informed about the lively bar over the phone & when we got there.wasnt a problem to us.they done their best to give us 2 rooms at the back (very kind)! polite friendly check in,clean comfortable rooms & had a good nights sleep.woke up to a great breakfast which is a nice table service.the staff are really nice & we both enjoyed our stay,will stay here again well done!

Room Tip: If you are unsure about the noise from the bar downstairs maybe try before hand to get a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busterStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    33
    24
    15
    23
See reviews for
24
21
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North devon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed here with our 9 Month old Son during a trip to visit family living in South Woodham Ferrers. We were booked in for one night with a few other members of the family in other rooms.
We arrived early evening on a Thursday and checked in at the large, clean and modern bar. The hotel is right in the town centre and so you should anticipate the usual drunken shannanigans on Friday & Saturday nights. Also the bar/club looks to provide lively music up to 2am. Bear this in mind and maybe request an upper floor away from the hub.

We had requested a cot for our son which we were told on arrival had already been taken to the room-good stuff. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The "family" room was located at the furthest reaches of the hotel and had a double bed and a single.
The room was spotlessly clean although basic and rather dated. I am at a loss to explain how the decor appears to be older than the building.
The bathroom could do with modernisation, but was clean and had plenty of towels and complimentary shower gels, soap etc.
There is plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits etc alongside the kettle. Also a hairdryer, TV and alarm clock are provided.
The provided cot was modern and clean.

One of the main gripes I had about this room was the double bed. It was very hard and the base at the foot end had collapsed somewhat. My wife didn't mind so much but for me it made it so uncomfortable that I had to sleep in the single. Which in contrast was far to soft and springy-alas there was nothing "just right" ;)
Maybe the management need to access this bed for replacement (room 43)

The cost of the room included breakfast. This is served in the bar area. There was a good selection of cereals and fruit juices/tea/coffee. Along with bread for toasting and spreads etc.
I opted for the Full-English breakfast. It arrived quite promptly and was satisfactory. The sausages and bacon could perhaps be upgraded to a better quality to really improve the dish.
The staff were always attentive and polite.

I have rated this Hotel as "Average" although with a few minor improvements it would be knocking on the door of "very good"

Good value none-the-less at around £60 for a room per night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

pointless booking into a hotel. would have got a better nights sleep in my car or on a park bench. could hear a water pump or boiler running all night, doors slamming and workers in the car park. never again.
i explained this in the morning to the staff and they didn't seem to care.
such a shame as we had been to a lovely wedding and thought staying at a hotel would be a nice treat, instead it was a waste of money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank laurajacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chelmsford hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I definitely would not recommend this hotel, and did not enjoy my stay there. Luckily, I have had a few days to calm down, otherwise this review would have been in danger of containing expletives!

I will try and first think of some positives:
- ermm....
- Ok, near to 3 rivers golf and country club. Taxi £12.
- Relatively clean
- Staff were not unfriendly

Negatives:
- They warned that there would be music on Saturday night- a risk of being noisy. What they did not say was that there was a LIVE ROCK BAND on just below the room. The music I could have handled (went on till 2am) but the band felt like it was in the same room (till 1.15am). The mirrors on the walls were vibrating and my toothbrush kept falling off the shelf in the bathroom. This meant I was extremely tired the next day for the wedding I was going to!

-The bed was really hard and uncomfortable, the pillows were thin and lumpy. Awful brown blanket on bed contained cigarette burns.

- The bathroom was badly in need of an update- salmon pink 1970s style very basic. The sink looked like it had been glued back together. The toilet roll was cheap and awful. When I had a shower the bath was very creaky and didn't feel very stable- I couldn't wait to get out.

Overall, I definitely was not worth the money and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GeordieJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaklandhotel, Manager at The Oakland Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
I am very suprised to hear your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Firstly you were booked into a triple room on Sunday night and single room on Saturday night. Upon check in when you asked what time you would have to switch over, I explained that the triple room was in fact available for that night but it is a noisy room and you would hear the band. I also explained you were right over it however, if you prefered you could still have the quiet single. You chose the Triple room saying it would be easier. I said if at anytime during the evening you change your mind speak to the girl in the bar. I even gave you her name.
All our single bed have been replaced in the last month to very good quality Slumberland beds. As for the the bathrooms, yes, some of them are dated but we are trying to work our way through replacing them, as you can imagine this is very costly, but we have managed to get quite a few changed. We are a 2* hotel and our costs do reflect this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Paid £75 for a twin room and this has to be one of the worst hotels I have had to stay in.
On arrival I wasmade to wait over 10 mins for one of the bar staff to notice I was waiting and was not the most pleasant of people when he did come and finaly deal with my booking.
Room was from the 70's, felt unclean and the bathroom was ...........
Breakfast the next morning was not better as we were in a rush and asked for a bacon and egg sandwich, ended up with eeg and bacon on a plate and we were told the hotel do not do take-aways!
Avoid!!!!!!

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank jacko042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAYLEIGH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I stayed here on biz and was dismayyed to hear revellers partying until 3am. this was terrible as i had a meeting in nearby Wickford at 9am in the morning.

I got very little sleep

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank REVIEWKING7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We are 40 and ahve a 22 year old daughter who stayed in the family room. Although room was dated it was clean, plenty towels,warm,quiet and comfortable. Bring your own toiletries ie shampoo conditioner etc, as it only has basic soap dispensers.Only downside was the poor quality beds, old spring bases and matresses. Great location in town centre for all shops various takeaways within 300 metres.Staff friendly and helpful and provided a decent service. Breakfast was a good standard and had from cerials to the full english available. Parking right outside free. Paid £69 for bb inclusive for all of us. Total Value for money. AA two star registered would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coss1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 12 in Chelmsford
460 reviews
9.3 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
449 reviews
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
363 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakland Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakland Hotel Ltd

Property: The Oakland Hotel Ltd
Address: 2-6 Reeves Way | South Woodham Ferrers, Chelmsford CM3 5XF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakland Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned hotel with 36 ensuite bedrooms including a Bridal Suite with 4 poster bed & spa bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Oakland Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakland Hotel Chelmsford
The Oakland Hotel Ltd Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing