We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveler rating
339
242
114
49
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
242
114
49
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews service area service station lorry park petrol station meal deal budget hotel good nights sleep family room staff on reception all you can eat staff were really friendly comfortable bed restaurant staff overnight stay attending a wedding night's sleep visiting family
Filter
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 773 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2016

Our sat nav took us to the entrance of the local tip! When we finally found the correct place I could have been forgiven for thinking we were back at the tip as there was a generous sprinkling of litter all around the car park including a disposable nappy . It looked uncared for. The welcome was friendly enough though the booking was incorrect by £50. The room on the ground floor overlooked the hotel entrance. Though it appeared clean the presence of a part used pack of Ritzla filters on the carpet made me wonder just how clean and what had gone on before us. Food was slow in coming from the kitchen though our waiter was attentive and extremely pleasant. The food was however ok. The problems started after 10pm with taxis and guests returning from a function and standing outside the entrance- and therefore our window- smoking and chatting. It was impossible to get to sleep until gone 11. Then at 0115 an arriving family with children allowed them to run up and down the corridor. The final straw came at 0350 when some one in the room above clearly fell out of bed with a crash that woke us and made items on the dressing table rattle. Thunderous footsteps followed and then some 20 minutes later the performance was repeated.
A complaint the next morning saw a full refund, but didn't replace the lost sleep and we both arrived less than fresh at our next stop.
Breakfast was fine, same attentive waiter and the food came out much faster. The staff here are fine. They were sympathetic, friendly and polite. The food is fine and the rooms a standard Premier Inn product. Its the design of the hotel that caused the some of the issues. A bit of attention to housekeeping especially in the car park wouldn't go amiss.

Room Tip: Dont have a room overlooking the entrance if you want to get to sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

Lone female given a ground floor bedroom with no phone and no reception for mobiles. Lumpy bed. Didn't sleep a wink and have to say this is not the norm for a premier inn.
After a 3 1/2 hour drive I arrived at 10.30 and ordered a glass of wine. I stayed near the bar and couldn't believe the sign to the staff on view for all the guests. Venda must be the manager and seems to like the use of bold, underlining and red pen. As a tired guest I could see that the staff hadn't been checking expiry dates and standards of cleaning. Venda why not try talking to your team.

Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
Thank true2city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Services at Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Hi A TripAdvisor Member

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn it is our aim to make our guests feel brilliant through a great night’s sleep, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay fell far short of your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards and please be assured your comments will be followed up by the Management Team at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Darren Brown
Premier Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

Very friendly, breakfast usual Premier Inn good standard. Shame that not all areas up to normal Premier standard. Duvet Covers pulled up but not straightened or any other part of bed made plus desk top not cleaned. Without realising it, I must have spilt coffee on desk top, when I got back in evening desk top was sticky. Basic room house keeping would have ment it was cleaned.
Due to pizza oven broken and no fish & chips ended up having third choice from evening meal menu. I would happily go back, as confident that it will be sorted out. All my comments were acknowledged and apology made when I checked out.

Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
Thank ianrp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016

Have used this quite a few times. Oddly this the Springfield Premier Inn is less than a mile from the Boreham Premier Inn but Springfield always seems to offer slightly better room rates. Rooms are a good standard and the staff all very accomodating. Breakfast selection good although it has to be said they've never yet made edible porridge despite attempts on every stay i've made at this location. No noise heard in the rooms i have had from the busy A12 and nor from the neighbouring McDonalds either which can be handy for breakfast if thats your preference. Will be staying again.

Thank kpollitt53
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Although dated and needs updating to current Premier Inn standard, a very pleasant stay. Clean and comfortable.
Staff very polite and helpful (Thankyou Dan H and Diane) needs air con in rooms got very humid, couldn't have window open cause of road noise. Couple of things didn't appear on the menu during our 3 night stay (pizza oven broken and no fish delivery).

Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews