We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Chelmsford
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayred for 2 nights whilst visiting family in the area. The receptionist (Debs) was extremely helpful and welcoming on arrival as was our breakfast waitress (Annabel), thank you both for making us feel so welcome.

Our room was on the 2nd floor, very clean, lots of room and the bed was very comfortable. Unlike others who have commented we do not expect top of the range toiletties at a Premier Inn, we always travel with our own, (they do however provide soap and shower gel).

When we booked on line it mentioned that the hotel is close to a main road and services so we knew what to expect, it is in a good location and meant we could easily get into the centre of town.

Our only disappointment was that our room overlooked the main entrance and late in the evening several people used the area to smoke, most had been out for the night so there was quite a lot of loud banter and laughter which kept us awake. We are not anti smoking but maybe the hotel should give some consideration to directing people to an area that is not outside people's bedrooms. This is the only reason we are not marking our visit as excellent. If we stay again we would ask to be placed in a room overlooking the rear of the hotel.

Our stay was resonably priced, the staff were excellent and the breakfasts excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Avoide rooms overlooking main entrance as people use the area to smoke and chat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weloveourholidays_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 673 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and found the service was very good, the ladies behind the reception were very helpful and even printed off a google map directions for me when they realised how far I was travelling on my own.
They guarantee a good nights sleep, and I can say I definitely had a great sleep!
The location of the hotel is good very close to A12 so can get away easily
Great food in the restaurant attached to this hotel
Definitely recommend for all travellers wandering around this area

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked Premier Inn for our 1 night stay as the room value at 29.00 was excellent and couldn't really book the local Travel Lodge as there price was 3x that on this particular night.

All premier inn's are the same really, this one wasn't any different to any other premier inn we have stayed in to be honest. Apart from the restaurant bit, it wasn't very big and we didn't get to have breakfast there as the time we went it was full, so we got breakfast on our way home instead.

The room was clean and comfortable, dead lock and chain on the door which was extra safety with our two children.

Had to wait a while to be served a drink at the bar, but nothing else to complain about.

The location is ideal, literally just off the A12, J19.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Me, my friend and 15 year old sister stayed here this past weekend for V Festival. Unfortunately we didn't enjoy our stay as the room was so hot overnight that we couldn't sleep. Although the breakfast was good and the lady that checked us in was lovely, another lady at the counter was incredibly rude and accused us of staying as three adults in a room meaning we shouldn't be in a triple room. I felt that the room was far over priced considering it's a budget hotel and would much rather have spent the same money on a nicer hotel but none were available. It is well placed with a marks and spencer garage next door and a McDonald's and was convenient for V Festival but next year ill be making sure to book further in advance so as not to end up stayi bothered again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhan186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My sister and i stayed here on 17th-18th during the V-festival weekend. We arrived early, around 11am and was not expecting to be allowed in our room until 2pm but housekeeping had already cleaned our room so we were able to check in early. The staff on the front desk were s friendly and helpful, especially Sandy, who could not help us enough, and was very lovely to us.
Our room was spotless, smelt clean and there were plenty of towels and extra pillows. The bed was so comfy that i wanted to take it home as its better than my own.I had a good night sleep and as i took earplugs i did not hear any lorries as i was expecting to. I was only woken in the morning by customers talking loudly in the corridor.
We had a lovely breakfast, and the resturant staff were happy and friendly. The young man who was on shift that morning (tall with dark hair, sadly did not catch his name) was so nice and helpful. The resturant was clean, nicely decorated and had a lovely atmosphere.
We saw a young girl (maybe chinese??) who was very polite and very cheerful.
Checking out was a sad occasion as both me and my sister could quite happily have stayed longer! Sandy was on the morning shift (18th aug) and asked us how we slept and if everything met our expectations, and i can honestly say this was a pleasure to stay at springfield.
We plan on staying again during the festival season and will be ensuring we book well ahead so we dont have to stay anywhere but here. Staff are lovely and our stay was too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

An excellent friendly hotel with staff that could not do enough for myself and the extended family of 5 children under 5 and 12 adults all asking for different things. They dealt with the fire alarm at 'stupid' o'clock well and there was no argument when a refund was requested. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I love Premier Inn, but this place takes the cup! Thank you people for the best stay. So friendly and accommodating. Jeanette (?) was great, as were all the restaurant staff ( Carlos especially). Brilliant stay that made the family wedding we attended absolutely brilliant!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Wynn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 11 in Chelmsford
520 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 11 in Chelmsford
376 reviews
2.7 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
376 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel

Address: Colchester Road | Chelmsford Service Area, Springfield, Chelmsford CM2 5PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#5 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range: $60 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If a loved one is getting married at a venue nearby, or you'd just love to explore this corner of the South East, Premier Inn Hotel Chelmsford Springfield is the ideal spot. There are plenty of stunning wedding venues like Boreham House and Leez Priory nearby, and we're very well connected with good transport links too. Have an engagement with first class cricket at Essex County Cricket Ground. Or ring the changes with a fantastic weekend at the nearby V Festival. Say 'I do' to some great shopping and eating out, then come back to the hotel for a meal in our restaurant, with a lovely marriage of traditional and contemporary food, and finally a night in a comfy bed. Directions: Located on A12 J19, Chelmsford Bypass, signposted Chelmsford Service Area. Transport and local information: City Centre Shopping Essex County Cricket Ground Hylands House Historic Site & Events Chelmsford Train Station 3 miles Stansted Airport 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Chelmsford
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing