We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We went to the County Hotel as a surprise birthday present for my mum's birthday, the sandwiches and cakes looked and tasted amazing. I was especially pleased how you catered for my dietary requirements. Mr McGregor who served us was very helpful.

I only have one criticism , the area where we first sat down. I didn’t think the main lounge bar area was the appropriate place to have afternoon tea as there seemed to be business meetings going on and we were sat down right in the middle of them. I asked if we could be moved, though it did feel like we had asked for the impossible! Eventually we were moved into the restaurant, right by the window which was much better and definitely made my mum’s birthday more enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    146
    84
    31
    26
See reviews for
73
97
35
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We recently held a Ladies Festival in the Hotel Ballroom. During the planning and organisation of the function I was in constant communication with the sales manager who assisted us with the organisation of the event in an efficient and proffessional manner and accomodated all our requests.
During the evening event the catering team were very professional and gave us an outstanding service.The meal was delicious and they catered for our every need.
Would recommend holding any function/event at the County Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel and everything about it was good, the staff were extremely welcoming, friendly, but at the same time professional. Our room was lovely, a very good size, clean and tidy as well as cosy and not too corporate. Finally the food was great, a very good lunch time bar menu, our evening meal was delicious and breakfast the following day was "lip-smacking" with a superb choice. - Would certainly pay another visit. - Jan C

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fulhamlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We arrived at noon and an excellant lunch in the bar. Our Premium room was very large with an extremly comfortable bed and spacious bathroom.
Staff were always helpful and breakfast was top class,
Would recommend and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Treat yourself and upgrade to a premium , it's worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmandChintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was visiting Chelmsford for business and picked the County Hotel purely based on location. It was pouring down when I arrived to Chelmsford railway station so I was rather happy that the hotel was only a short walk away. I was greeted by a very kind staff member but my joy was short lived when she told me my room was on the second floor and there is no elevator. The staircase was rather narrow and of corse covered in carpeting which made me less than happy trying to drag my rather extensive luggage to my room. The room was oldish but neat. The bathroom had one of those sinks where there is one tap for cold water and another one for hot (not warm) one. Not a huge fan. The bed was however big and comfy so after I managed to somehow wash my face in the sink I slept happily, only occasionally waking up to the sirens from outside. My favourite part was however the next morning and breakfast which was a lot nicer than I had expected with lots to choose from and a waiter asking you if they could make you some warm breakfast on top of the continental one. Okay quality for the price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

WOW!! 3 Star Hotel with 5 Star Service. This is the first time I stayed at the County Hotel and I must say, this was impressive and unexpected. I travel a lot and have stayed in many hotels over the years but this has got me on trip advisor to let others know about this gem. The welcome when we arrive was pleasant and warm. The room was very nice, clean and spacious with a brilliant WiFi to top it all up. And then there was the food. Started with homemade terrine which was to die for, followed by a rib eye steak, cooked exactly as I asked and I completed my meal with a Baileys Creme Brulée, HEAVEN is all I can say. All I have to say is this, if you are in Chelmsford, give it a try, it's worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked a premium room (no 37) and we were extremely please with it. It was lovely large room, clean and up to date, with an large bathroom. Tea and coffee facilities with fresh milk in the fridge. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely stay there again. The Nepalese restaurant nearby The Everest Gurkha was also excellent.

Room Tip: Room 37 was lovely - corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuggetBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: 29 Rainsford Road | Essex, Chelmsford CM1 2PZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Hotel is conveniently located near the heart of Chelmsford City centre with a 2 minute walk from Chelmsford train station and just 35 minutes train journey to London Liverpool Street. This warm, friendly hotel is an ideal location from which to explore Chelmsford city, The Essex countryside or even a quick trip into London. We have 50 luxury rooms and all are stylish with contemporary features, consisting of standard, premium and suites. When you visit Chelmsford for business or leisure, we can offer you a perfect stay and pride ourselves on making your visit a memorable experience, whether it is for one night or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Chelmsford
The County Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing