We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a small hotel in the main street a few minutes walk from the train station, the County Hall and the centre of town. It provides a warm welcome. I did not eat in the restaurant, but I was asked if I would like to eat as soon as I arrived, which was hospitable. I had a very heavy suitcase with me and was given a room on the second floor, but the lift only goes as far as the first floor. I had a single room, which was adequately sized, nicely decorated and clean, with a double bed. All the rooms are non-smoking and my room was quiet. The room and bed were comfortable. It had a clean, modern en-suite bathroom with a very powerful shower. I had a drink in the bar late at night. The service was very friendly and there was a good selection of interesting local ales.
The corridors leading to the rooms have many fire doors that need painting, as they look damaged and shabby. Some of the carpet on the corridors looked stained and they are worn on some of the stairs.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant, which is a bright modern, smart room. The continental breakfast was a standard affair, but very satisfactory, with friendly service. There is a full English breakfast available. This is a hotel that is suitable for a short stay for a business trip, or if touring the area.

Room Tip: If you need it, the lift only reaches the first floor. All the rooms are non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRDICKMAZEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    145
    83
    31
    26
See reviews for
70
97
35
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed 1 night at your hotel on Wednesday 23rd October booked into a Premium Room and was very happy on my arrival to find I had been upgraded to one of your Suites.

The room was lovely and comfortable with everything I needed and much much more.

The bed was large and comfortable with bathrobes for "him & her" .
The bathroom was sublime with a bath and separate shower and large fluffy white towels.
The main living area had a large comfy sofa, dining table and a large flat screen TV and the complimentary fruit and coffee was lovely.

Air-con kept the room lovely and cool so I could close the lovely big bay windows, my only suggestion would be that as my room was on the road some sort of net curtains or blinds would have been nice to have some extra privacy so not having to close the curtains.

I always enjoy staying at the County Hotel and will be booking in again very soon.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are the best and ofcause the Suites which aren't that much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a nice meeting at the County Hotel Chelmsford yesterday with the ETA, they certainly looked after us well, The breakfast was good as was Lunch the Sea Bream was perfect, thank you Chef. Very helpfull had to look up the traffic report on the M25 and also required a charger for my mobile, both supplied immediately.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having spent another day at The County Hotel (Chelmsford), with a group of fellow Toastmasters, who are all hyper critical of service and quality, can safely say that the service and the quality of the food was as good as ever.
Normally corporate hires can expect a standard offering/package. The breakfast and lunch were presented beautifully and tasted delicious. Any dietary requirements were provided for (almost unasked for) and the room set up, the unobtrusive service (thanks to Stuart and Mark) and the ease of booking and organising the day (many thanks to Karen) made it so easy to book and organise.

Every member of our Association attending the meeting gave 100% feedback!

The Christmas party nights look like they offer the same excellent service and delicious food - not to mention great staff that perhaps an ETA social evening may be on the cards!

Would I book again? Really - do you need to ask?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, London, England, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Attended a conference at the County hotel where we were given a really poor buffet offering.
We decided (unfortunately) to stay for a meal before leaving, we mistakenly presumed that the meals could only get better and swiftly ordered 3 meals from the bar.
The female member of staff was unhelpful and did not inspire confidence that we had made the right choice in staying for food.
The food came in good time (not fast but in a proportionate amount of time that should have allowed the food to be prepared to a good standard).
I was absolutely appalled at what had been dumped onto the plate.
Gammon that was really bitty and seemed to be filled with gristle, chips that had obviously been part fried and by the taste of them I wouldn't have been surprised if they were left overs from the day before. The eggs were ok. Unfortunately I had to drain the oil from my plate as the food was swimming in the oil and grease. It was really bad. How can any restaurant go wrong with gammon egg and chips??!!!
My friend also opted for the gammon and the other friend had a prawn wrap served with crisps and some sort of salad garnish that looked far from fresh.
3 meals for £35.
I have tasted better at Mcdonalds.
Really really bad food. When I called the manager the day after apologies were offered but no offer of a refund or apology gesture. Again really bad.
In a city where there are lots of choices for good food you deserve to go out of business.
Go elsewhere for food people.
It really was VERY bad.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank ALITTLESWEETIE80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were looking for somewhere at short notice for a New Years Eve do, somewhere that we could dance and eat and generally have a good laugh. The four of us ( 2 couples) are aged between 50 - 59, but would like to add ' young at heart' The meal was ok nothing to grand but generally good. The people around us seemed older but were all having a great time, there was a lot of laughter which I love! After the meal the music got going and we danced for most of the night, so many people on the dance floor it was a good fun night, ok helped with a few vodka's. We had booked 2 double rooms so we just had to head upstairs. Our room was a bit basic and I would not of wanted to stay more than the one night, although our booking was last miunte so I cannot comment on the rest of the rooms. On the upside the breakfast was very good one of the best I have had a UK hotel. I would go back for another New Years Eve dinner/dance just for the fun factor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Checked into the county for a wedding in nearby leez abbey. Parking at the rear is free but a bit chaotic. Spaces are not clearly marked and cars are all over the place. There is a small lift to the first floor which is fine but if you are on the 2 nd floor there can be quite a long walk with plenty of stairs. Place is like a maize but it is very well signed . The room was one of the more expensive ones and was quite nice but not the cleanest I've stayed in. You could write your name in the dust on the blinds . There were several lamps (bedside etc) in the room but many of them lacked bulbs so couldn't be used. White robes were provided but they had some very dubious stains in the back so we left well alone. On arrival we had to send for toilet rolls because the one in the room was almost completely used. Beds were comfortable and a decent bath and shower. Staff were very helpful and friendly. . The resturant was a saving grace. We ate there twice and even though it was quiet the food was very good . Not cheap but worth every penny. A very good selection of wine too. Breakfast was very good too with a choice of continental or full English. (Not included in the bill). The bar area is pleasant and I'm told can get very busy some nights. All in all the hotel was a little bit of a disappointment but the resturant managed to save the day. This place is also just ten mins walk from the town centre. I think this hotel has been down graded from a four star to a three . A lot of the carpets are lookin a bit old and need replacing.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room as some of the 2nd floor rooms can have quite a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: 29 Rainsford Road | Essex, Chelmsford CM1 2PZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Hotel is conveniently located near the heart of Chelmsford City centre with a 2 minute walk from Chelmsford train station and just 35 minutes train journey to London Liverpool Street. This warm, friendly hotel is an ideal location from which to explore Chelmsford city, The Essex countryside or even a quick trip into London. We have 50 luxury rooms and all are stylish with contemporary features, consisting of standard, premium and suites. When you visit Chelmsford for business or leisure, we can offer you a perfect stay and pride ourselves on making your visit a memorable experience, whether it is for one night or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Chelmsford
The County Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing