We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Chelmsford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were looking for somewhere at short notice for a New Years Eve do, somewhere that we could dance and eat and generally have a good laugh. The four of us ( 2 couples) are aged between 50 - 59, but would like to add ' young at heart' The meal was ok nothing to grand but generally good. The people around us seemed older but were all having a great time, there was a lot of laughter which I love! After the meal the music got going and we danced for most of the night, so many people on the dance floor it was a good fun night, ok helped with a few vodka's. We had booked 2 double rooms so we just had to head upstairs. Our room was a bit basic and I would not of wanted to stay more than the one night, although our booking was last miunte so I cannot comment on the rest of the rooms. On the upside the breakfast was very good one of the best I have had a UK hotel. I would go back for another New Years Eve dinner/dance just for the fun factor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    152
    89
    32
    27
See reviews for
76
98
35
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Checked into the county for a wedding in nearby leez abbey. Parking at the rear is free but a bit chaotic. Spaces are not clearly marked and cars are all over the place. There is a small lift to the first floor which is fine but if you are on the 2 nd floor there can be quite a long walk with plenty of stairs. Place is like a maize but it is very well signed . The room was one of the more expensive ones and was quite nice but not the cleanest I've stayed in. You could write your name in the dust on the blinds . There were several lamps (bedside etc) in the room but many of them lacked bulbs so couldn't be used. White robes were provided but they had some very dubious stains in the back so we left well alone. On arrival we had to send for toilet rolls because the one in the room was almost completely used. Beds were comfortable and a decent bath and shower. Staff were very helpful and friendly. . The resturant was a saving grace. We ate there twice and even though it was quiet the food was very good . Not cheap but worth every penny. A very good selection of wine too. Breakfast was very good too with a choice of continental or full English. (Not included in the bill). The bar area is pleasant and I'm told can get very busy some nights. All in all the hotel was a little bit of a disappointment but the resturant managed to save the day. This place is also just ten mins walk from the town centre. I think this hotel has been down graded from a four star to a three . A lot of the carpets are lookin a bit old and need replacing.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room as some of the 2nd floor rooms can have quite a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The check in and reception desk was easy to use. The hotel was old and very shabby in the hallways, it also smelt like an old folks home. The room was nice, the heating was stuck on so didn't get much sleep though. The staff were all very friendly. I wouldn't go again, but it might be ok for a night if you are on business. It was easy to find and close to the hospital. The hotel management are clearly trying to improve the rooms and luckily I got one of the refurbished, hopefully their intention is to continue refurbish throughout. I didn't use the restaurant or breakfast room but the looked nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria-Twirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in the County Hotel in July while attending a wedding in Chelmsford. It was a disaster from our arrival although I had booked two rooms the previous December. The room for my son and daughter was tiny, overlooking the interior roof and no air conditioning, not even a fan in the room. I had requested two adjacent rooms. Their excuse was that they had a bus load of German tourists. The electricity failed and it was extremely difficult to find the way to the room and more seriously the way from the room. There wasn't even a floor plan and escape route plan, in the event of a fire etc., in the room. The dining room hygiene left a lot to be desired and when coupled with the rudeness of the dining room manager this did not contribute to a nice stay. My advice is avoid this hotel, very expensive and a very poor service.

Room Tip: Stay Away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The English Toastmasters Association has been using The County Hotel in Chelmsford for our main Association's meetings in April and October for the last six years.
The staff could not be more helpful and all the services that we use are excellent.
Several of our members stay over to make an early start for breakfast and find the rooms very clean and comfortable. The extras include an iron and ironing board which we find essential to give us the edge for our uniforms. The tea and coffee facilities in our room make the stay more pleasant with the range of choices and the bath room is always clean and comfortable.
The bed feels just right to get a great night's sleep and with all the extra facilities from easy parking to bar snacks and a pleasant and comfortable dining area, this hotel is hard to beat in Chelmsford and the surrounding area.
We would also like to thank the staff at the County Hotel for always being so friendly and accommodating to all our needs with nothing seeming to put them out when we need something extra that we may have forgotten or our numbers change on the day.
Thank you so much for your excellent and friendly service and for the welcome that we are always given.

Room Tip: My wife and I normally stay in one of the front rooms on the left as you look at the hotel and it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel; I don't think their website does it justice. It's only 5 min walk from Chelmsford station, and the town; it also has a large car park. Stayed only for one night for a business trip. The welcome at reception was warm & friendly. Found my room eventually (see below). It was spotless. The bedroom was large with a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom was very clean and spacious with a separate Bath & Shower. I ate in the restaurant, not cheap but excellent quality. My only slight criticism was the route to the bedrooms was like going through a maze. You need to follow the signs precisely, or maybe it's just a bloke thing :o). I would definitely stay again, for business or leisure..

Room Tip: Go for a large room, it's worth the extra pennies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycott, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for four nights last week whilst working at the hospital. Initially concerned as it was a single room but it was very nice. Plenty of room, a three quarter bed which was very comfy. As I was on a package meals were included and the food was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking. If in Chelmsford for business or pleasure a lovely hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
0.5 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 11 in Chelmsford
360 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 11 in Chelmsford
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
408 reviews
5.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
12.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: 29 Rainsford Road | Essex, Chelmsford CM1 2PZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Hotel is conveniently located near the heart of Chelmsford City centre with a 2 minute walk from Chelmsford train station and just 35 minutes train journey to London Liverpool Street. This warm, friendly hotel is an ideal location from which to explore Chelmsford city, The Essex countryside or even a quick trip into London. We have 50 luxury rooms and all are stylish with contemporary features, consisting of standard, premium and suites. When you visit Chelmsford for business or leisure, we can offer you a perfect stay and pride ourselves on making your visit a memorable experience, whether it is for one night or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Chelmsford
The County Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing