We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good recommendation”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Chelmsford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel was recommended to us by friends.

The County hotel is friendly, the room was a bit on the small side, but ok, and the hotel is within walking distance to downtown Chelmsford. Plenty of parking available at the premises. A bit expensive on the price/value ratio though.

Anyway, we will definitely return next time we are staying in Chelmsford.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_K_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 495 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Typical average hotel that does the job if you are in the area for a couple of days on business. Good location for walking into the town to one of the local restaurants. Plenty of space for parking which is free.

Would be more than happy to use again when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and my reactions are always the same. The rooms are adequate, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfasts very good. However, the building overall is inadequate and inappropriate for a modern hotel. However, Chelmsford is very short of proper hotels and this remains one the better options. The location for access to bus and train is is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

An apalling level of staff bad manners and downright rudeness.

We arrived from Stanstead Airport on Friday 6 July.Two couples in town for the weekend for a wedding.Were we not family the hotel would have ruined our weekend.The obsequious male receptionist primrarily queried my brother-in-law twice for our car reg despite having been told twice we came by taxi and N/A being written on the registration form.He then sneered at my wife and I quote " Very obviously you are not Mr.McChesney would you be able to sign here"

House keeping woke us with a symphony of slamming doors,check an empty room and allow the door closer to slam it,for about ten minutes.In the room hot water seemed only to work if the radiator in the bathroom was turned to on.It was the second day of the heat wave ,turning a shower into a Sauna.



Breakfast ,which finishes at ten o'clock on a Saturday morning,was dealt with in an unbelievable manner.We arrived at 09.50.First comment,"we are closing!!As the sun was shining I suggested we eat on the patio.NO,was the monosyllabic reply.Why? "Because you can't" Despite there being open glass doors onto it."I shall choose and then go outside" the reply "I won't serve you"My wife suggested we use the only free of three tables by the conservatory and sat down and began her cereal.Back comes the little "waitress" You can't sit there,it's set up for lunch.I.E. Wine glasses and no marmalade.Exasperated we moved though I did remind her we were guests of the hotel,whilst silently thinking inmates of an institution.

My sister unsighted by the blazing sun and a little frail asked surly receptionist for help with the lift instructions." It's there read it" She actually asked him to please be nice.

Strangely enough on our final night both my sister and her daughter in the next room both got unrequested 06:00 am alarm calls,my sisters call being a silent one.

On the on plus side the bar maid a blue eyed girl from the Eastern Bloc and Mandy the check out receptionist were both very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank declanshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Good sized room- very clean- great breakfast and good value. Staff couldn't do enough for us- highly recommended. Hotel five minute walk from Chelmsford rail station and just a bit further to town centre. Easy to book by telephone- 50 percent deposit required. Great shower- nice toiletries.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmicto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked 2 rooms at the reasonable rate of £80 per night and settled in at the appropriate time - left ou bags to explore Chelmsford. The rooms were large as was the bath rooms and very clean. The coffee making was sparse but adequate for the one night - not much coffee or tea but plenty of herbal variety ( not for us)
That night we returned to find the night staff had taken over - just the one man to run reception, room service and the bar - not good because when we came to collect the room keys no- one was around !
Breakfast was additional pricey but satisfying
The saving grace for this place was the morning staff

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamstoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We chose The County Hotel because it was located in walking distance from the train station. The location proved to be good for accessing the city's restaurants and shopping areas by foot as well. The hotel itself was average. Our room was large enough, overlooking the main street. The floor was a hard surface covered partially be a thin area rug...making rolling luggage difficult to manuver. The bathroom was also a good size with a stall shower and a large bathtub, but the shower pulsated annoyingly. The hot water supply seemed to be restricted to a small, pulsating stream. It was very difficult to shampoo, etc. The staff were helpful in restaurant recommendations and in storing luggage...late checkout was not an option here.

We did not use the restaurant or the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
2.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 10 in Chelmsford
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
1 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#9 of 10 in Chelmsford
545 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Margaretting
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 29 Rainsford Road | Essex, Chelmsford CM1 2PZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range: $108 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Hotel is conveniently located near the heart of Chelmsford City centre with a 2 minute walk from Chelmsford train station and just 35 minutes train journey to London Liverpool Street. This warm, friendly hotel is an ideal location from which to explore Chelmsford city, The Essex countryside or even a quick trip into London. We have 50 luxury rooms and all are stylish with contemporary features, consisting of standard, premium and suites. When you visit Chelmsford for business or leisure, we can offer you a perfect stay and pride ourselves on making your visit a memorable experience, whether it is for one night or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Chelmsford
The County Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing