We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience but no more”
Review of The Eagle

The Eagle
Ranked #132 of 373 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Eagle is a grade II traditional pub, situated in the village of Galleywood, close to Chelmsford.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A nice experience but no more”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stopped in for lunch mid-week on the basis of glowing TA reviews - not sure it deserves the huge accolades but its a nice enough place.

Menu is a bit limited and while starters seem a little gastro pub the mains seem just normal pub options. The evening menu is almost identical to the lunch menu making us wonder how soon would you have exhausted the attraction of returning?

We went for burger and a steak sandwich and both were fine - not amazing or incredible, just fine.

Service was prompt, friendly and professional and a small issue with the bill resolved without fuss.

Limited choice of real ales (2) seemed strange these days but this is a Greene King pub not a free-house and there were far more choices of lager than beer.

Prices are reasonable and portions pretty good although I know a few hearty eaters who might disagree.

So overall a nice enough pub with attentive and professional staff, that, with a slightly expanded menu menu, might be worth revisiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwils10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    30
    12
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good local with nice food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

There are plenty of pubs serving food in the local area but some can be a bit pricy and the service can leave you a bit cold. We tried the Eagle yesterday evening for a change and found a nice local atmosphere coupled with good service and lovely food. The garden area is lovely but I can imagine that the cosy inside is just as nice on a colder day.
Well done it's great to have a choice of somewhere this nice to go not far from home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MillsChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I Just Love TAPAS Night!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just been to tapas night at The Eagle. What a buzz! Loads of people eating, drinking and being merry. Ordered 3 dishes each which was about right. The service was quick and friendly and the food great. Had a jug of Pimms and lemonade to start @ £9.95... a bargain. Our 6 dishes were just simply lovely.

Some of the recent comments about this place are a bit OTT.

I will continue to support The Eagle. I most certainly would not eat here if the food was not up to scratch. I can most definitely recommend the tapas night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Watchouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing....”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Second time here and the food etc is just mind blowing!!!! Phil the chef is not just a good chef he's hot too.... Rock on well be back for more Danish delight..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxane1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deserves more praise than it has been getting lately.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited the Eagle on Saturday night and had a most enjoyable meal. Given the warm weather, I opted for something light (Meze followed by a very nice and fresh Caesar’s salad with a sizeable piece of grilled chicken on top) whilst my other half had mackerel pate with curried onion marmalade and grilled swordfish with various accompaniments. Including wine, aperitifs and a beer or two, the whole bill came to £63 which to my mind is not bad value at all.

Both courses were very nicely presented and we didn’t have to wait long despite there being only one chef working that night. The staff went out of their way to ensure we’d had an enjoyable evening and there was a nice buzz to the place with plenty of diners.

I’m not sure I entirely agree with the last two reviews in particular the comment about there not being enough to entertain children. This is an eatery, not a playground. I also fail to see what is ‘unsafe’ about the garden. Also, the décor is not tired and old. It is a listed building and as such carries age with it. The interior has been improved beyond all recognition after its previous proprietor let it fall into disrepair.

We will be returning!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiki364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eagle also viewed

 

Been to The Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing