We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
115
169
91
51
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
169
91
51
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews good size executive room town centre sky tv coffee machine sat nav comfortable bed train station one night stay would stay again restaurant staff reception area saturday night cooked breakfast no air con good nights sleep gym
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 468 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2016

This is a great place to stay, what you would expect from a hotel of this standard, and I would have given four stars if it were not for the heating system. Rooms comfortable and clean, and restaurant food was good. Wifi also reasonably fast.
A good nights sleep is what you expect in a hotel room, but I was woken up several times by the large air conditioning unit in the room. I set it to heat and 20C and it was silent, however, when temperature went below the setting the unit woke up to what sounded like a jet engine in the silence of night. This obviously happened several times during the night... Can I suggest that these units are replaced with something a little more conducive to a good nights sleep?

Room tip: If you have a choice, don't select a room with the large white air conditioning units...
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo S, Operations Manager at Best Western Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Dear Tony D

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
I am pleased we met the majority of your needs and expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.


D Warren
OPERATIONS MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

We booked for a large group 20+ people. No reception service to mention. Rooms were standard size and overall everything was clean. We booked for a meal in the restaurant with the family and the bride for the evening before the wedding - which was farcical - most of the guests waited for over an hour and a half to be served, whilst some of the group had received two courses. Food was average. Breakfast on the 2nd morning was completely disorganised with no cutlery, bowls, menus. Staff being sent home, and although staff were friendly, communication was a problem as the manager tried manfully to hold things together. To cap it all after spending thousands of pounds over the weekend on our booking, we were then charged when one of our toddlers was sick in the room, and after being told not to worry when we offered to clean - they charged us for the cost of another nights stay. Further communication culminated in rude and curt responses from management with no mention even of an apology for the fact that such a large booking were left so disappointed for a wedding party travelling far and wide. Steer clear!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoSanta-Rita, General Manager at Best Western Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2016

Re: Stay at the Atlantic Hotel
Dear Duncan S,
Firstly may I thank you for bringing the matters in your Trip advisor review. I am sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay were disappointing .

Prior to this review on Trip advisor, we have had communication with regards one of the bedrooms occupied by you, having had "vomit" all over the carpet to which a charge was made. The charge made was of £75.00 to clean the "Vomit " professionally. We have not charged for a further 3 nights for which the bedroom was de-commissioned to allow to dry and the smell to disappear.

Mr Duncan S then stated if our business would not refund the charge of £75.00 that he would write a negative review on trip advisor.

In our business we will take a sympathetic view if an accident as such occurs... however if people decide to treat property with no regard to others then we will stand by our decison of charging accordingly.

We consider nothing to be trivial if it displeases our guests, and we take all complaints very seriously.
Again I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention as our success depends on customer’s recommendations.
Yours sincerely,

Ricardo Santa-Rita

Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Room was good size, clean and quiet. We had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was very good lots of choice. Friendly staff I would recommend this hotel. Very near station and shopping and good to get anywhere in Essex by car.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank LondonSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2016

We stayed here whilst meeting up with friends at the hotel restaurant, which is very good and worth a visit in its own right. Our room was a good size and bathroom clean. Hotel staff were helpful and accommodating. We did have a skip right outside of our bedroom window, but we didn't come here for the view, so it didn't really matter! Good hotel for the price and centrally located.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Choolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

This was a highly pleasant stay in a decent hotel.

The reception was well presented and staff helpful as we were confusing them I think. I really don't get other people's comments on it being dated, pretentious customers I feel.

The rooms were clean, tidy with plenty of space and the beds are enormous. A concern for the management would that there was a little mould around the window. Not enough for the room to have a problem as I only noticed when leaving.

Breakfast was great and staff so polite. Food was a little slow for just a cooked breakfast but worth the wait. It may have just been my hangover causing the impatience.

We had a drink in the bar on the Thursday evening and weekend that was a little lifeless. But it was good of the staff to stay open for us.

One note though is to check the heating. We arrived at 8pm and were straight out for dinner. Came back to the bar and by the time we got to the room went straight to bed. Woke up at half 5 in the morning covered in sweat as it was set at 25 degree c. Totally ridiculous.

Otherwise a good stay.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank DangerousPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews