We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Chelmsford
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Only stayed for the one night for business and had to leave the very next day. Friendly staff and modern looking inside. Would definitely recommend. Not much to do in Chelmsford though, but the room and hotel made it a very comfortable stay.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank ossie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 404 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Found the hotel very comfortable, I had an exec room which had a massive bed and was spacious. The heating system let it down as it was rather noisey, after turning it off I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was spot on. Dont let the AA 3 star put you off.

Room Tip: Access is not clear, you will see a barrier as you approach the side of the hotel, this is the entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickipike10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here recently with my husband for a romantic birthday weekend. We were given a free upgrade to a room on 2 levels which was absolutely amazing. There is so much space and unless you have a fear or heights we can highly recommend staying in these rooms. Not knowing the area very well, the receptionist, diana i think her name was, was very helpful and informative and gave great advise on where to visit. A great weekend was had. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msdrywhitewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip to Chelmsford. As somewhere to sleep this was ok but little more. I stayed there during particularly cold weather and the thin duvet was completely inadequate. There were no extra blankets and I was completely dependent on the air conditioning unit. As is the case in most hotels, the unit would wake up in the middle of the night and rattle away thus waking me up in the process.The rooms were a reasonable size but the walls were paper thin. Early in the morning, my next door neighbour took a phone call-he may as well been sitting on the end of my bed.
The restaurant and the staff were a mixed bag. The breakfast was fine and reasonable value. Some of the staff were very helpful and others were downright rude.
The best thing is the free membership of the Fitness First gym across the road which I thought was generous and great for those who pick hotels for these type of facilities and would get 5 stars if that is your priority in a hotel when on business trips.
The hotel is badly in need of investment both physically and for training its staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Briefly this is what I found.
Building looks like an office. No clear directions to park. Had to go into the reception to find the entrance, which is through a barrier, which raises on approach, and then they give you a code to get out.
Reception was once trendy, but now looks tired and dark. The receptionist seemed a bit disinterested. The hotel seemed very quiet and I didn’t see anyone else there all the time I was there. The room is very basic. It looks quite empty and cold. The bed was quite hard, Ok if you like it like that. The idea I think is to be wacky and funky, therefore if you like to have dark wood, fluffy bed etc this isn’t the place for you. The TV was large and OK. The coffee and tea facilities were OK. Could do with a few more biscuits. The bathroom was quite small compared with some I have stayed in. The plughole as usual was one of these pop up ones on the sink and bath. The sink one was broken (this is usually the case) and therefore the water wouldn’t go away. The bath wouldn’t drain away properly. The dirty water wouldnt run down the hole without a lot of encouragement. The bathroom could do with a clean. There was fluff and dirt in the floor corners by the bath.
All in all it served its purpose. If you go into town take a taxi. I walked back at midnight and there are a few local areas where druggies and the like hang about

Room Tip: I stayed in 255. Ive stayed in 2 different ones so far, and found both to be a bit bland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on two seperate occasions and in different rooms. The rooms varied greatly. Room 358 on the uppermost floor was quiet with minimal noise from other guest rooms. It was pretty basic but certainly not at all bad for the price. However the wi- fi connection kept dropping out, which we did report to the front desk. On the second visit, Room 236 was not good at all. Had an ill - fitting window (!) which was really draughty, wall mounted heater broke and it was soooo noisy from other guest rooms and painting/ updating going on in the adjoinjng room. The staff were kind and gave me a small portable electric heater. Also, bedding is clean but had tears so obviously well used. Pillows were the cheap, flat polyester ones. I always judge a hotel on the linens. It says a lot about how it cares for its guests! Would you put torn sheets on your guest bed??
The staff were helpful with questions and the breakfast room is nice.
Would not stay here again because of the inconsistencies I encountered but for the money I paid it could have been a lot worse.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britgirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The room was fine, not cheap mind you.
The bar and restaurant is very impersonal, the bar was looked after by waiters from restaurant, which meant waiting.
I was away on business on valentines day the restaurant had a special menu although I was accommodated as a resident It felt like I was a hindrance

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#5 of 10 in Chelmsford
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#9 of 10 in Chelmsford
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Margaretting
383 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
436 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Atlantic Hotel

Address: New Street, Chelmsford CM1 1PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range: $69 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in to Chelmsford! The Atlantic Hotel is a modern, stylish place to stay. Comfortable accommodation comes as standard here, with spacious, attractive rooms offering full en-suite facilities just minutes from the town centre. Easily accessible by train and car, the Atlantic Hotel is also close to the Cathedral and University, while London can be reached with the minimum of fuss. You'll enjoy privacy as well as convenience here, and our staff will do everything in their power to make you comfortable. Speaking of comfort, our three feature New York' apartment suites offer something a little different for those who choose to stay in one. Pop Art in our corridors completes the contemporary look and feel in this relaxing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
Best Western Atlantic Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing