We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lek's Thai Food

Lek's Thai Food
Ranked #29 of 363 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $7
Cuisines: Fast Food, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Thai Food in Chelmsford, we offer good value and friendly service. There is seating outside on the Market Square. Come along and try our food we believe you will be surprised at how good it is. We also offer Take Away and outside catering services. Lek's Thai Food is located on the corner of Chelmsford's retail market next to Bellmead (opposite central park)
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Street food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. Not pretty, not pretentious just great food.

Sat and had a smashing meal in the sun and watched the world go by. Sitting by the market you get a real flow of chelmo life walking by

Shame its not open sundays or evenings


  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dayvboyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    25
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Thai Street Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I always look to my wife being away so I can visit Lek's in Chelmsford Market for lunch. What a great place, the food is superb and they have a couple of seats inside but normally you eat outside. Food is very authentic Thai which I can vouch for having been there several times, a great find and so cheap

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangin'around
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

OK, it's basic, it's in the market and theres not really anywhere you can sit. It's only open for lunch. The food however is superb, very authentic, delicious and good value.

I would highly recommend if you love authentic Thai food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hi-Voltage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Every town needs one of these.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Having been one of Mrs King's first customers back in the nineties when it opened, I was blown away by the Chicken Massaman, which was the only thing on the menu at the beginning. She kindly explained how to make it and proceeded to sell me a tub of the paste. Eaten there off & on ever since. The menu has expanded since but I was there again today for yet another one. Best food for a fiver in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryBuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Chelmsford!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you want tasty, fresh, authentic Thai food, try Lek's, who are based at Chelmsford market between Tuesday to Thursday I think. They cook lovely food which you can eat there if the weather is nice, otherwise I get a takeaway.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sushiewushie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lek's Thai Food also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Lek's Thai Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing