We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good home made food”
Review of El Chigre

El Chigre
Ranked #54 of 367 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good home made food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

It was very quiet on a Monday night but we still felt welcome. I'm not a massive tapas fan but the food was plentiful with lots of choice. The overwhelming reminder of the food is the massive amount of garlic, so much so it was sometimes hard to taste other flavours.
That said we had a nice evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    47
    12
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellant food great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our first visit which was absolutely lovely and will definitely be going back with more friends.Not sure quite what to choose so we chatted with people on the next table and had advice from the waitress.We had 6 dishes between 2 people so a bit too much really but just so much great food to choose from.We dran sangria and the place had a real buz about it

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACathy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely again”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We only intended to have a couple of drinks to start our night as El Chigre has such a nice atmosphere, however ended up eating again! We had lovely food, started with the meat and cheese platter, it's enormous and far too big for 2 but its gorgeous. Then we had a couple of breads, tomato and garlic aioli, then croquettes and cod balls everything was delicious and we come out stuffed. As it always does, the atmosphere was buzzing and the tapas great and it has the best selection of fantastic Spanish beers and wine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BePositive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful - again!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Another great lunch at El Chigre today - authentic Spanish cooking and atmosphere in the middle of Chelmsford. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer, or eat any more food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexSarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yummayummyyumyum”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Not only the most authentic Spanish restaurant in Chelmsford, but possibly the best restaurant in Chelmsford. We went as a party of four and ordered a variety of tapas. Each dish was delicious, and perhaps the only negative of the experience was having to limit yourself to just a few. Having read some of the reviews on here I see some people had to wait a while for their food. This was not our experience at all, and our food was served very promptly. Great staff, atmosphere, and food - can't wait to return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chigre also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
 
Chelmsford, Essex
 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to El Chigre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing