We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what you expect - nothing more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chelmer Tavern - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Chelmer Tavern
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Toby Carvery
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
215 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Does what you expect - nothing more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is cavery fast food - not a criticism just an observation. I paid £8.74 for a cavery meal & a soft drink & at that price I don't think anyone should be surprised that you don't get haute cuisine. Staff were friendly & quick & the food was of a decent standard.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and cheerful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Ideal for a quick bite to eat - no-one would ever leave here hungry. Don't expect silver service - it's all you can eat carvery.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“You get (or not) what you pay for !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is now a carvery and you expect it to be just that.
We had to wait for a table and then join the queue as if on an all inclusive holiday or a prison, to wait for our food.
The staff are very friendly but obviously overworked. They just can't cope.
I was given a seat next to a very draughty window and froze for the one and a half hours we were there.
The quality of the food, apart from the undercooked peas, was good.
My biggest complaint was that our desserts, bread and butter pudding and cheesecake, were not available - why not ??

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jockfromessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FIRST TIME LAST TIME”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Visited the Chelmer Tavern on the evening of 25 March 2013. Cheery Welcome. 15 minute wait. Nicely positioned table. Good atmosphere. Waitress vey pleasant. One of our party had Steak and Ale pie. Meat succulent but stirngy fatty and chewy. The others had the basic carvery. their comments ranged from 'Its ok' to 'I wouldn't come back again' I have had much much better elsware. Ice cream good. Never had a problem at a Crown Carvery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WheezyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hey it's the 1970's all over again!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Wow a real step back in time carvery.. Shame the customers don't have the manners or reserve of back then. You'll have to queue and there starts the problem where? The bar is too small and no seats just cramming in eaters.
Why do some people think carvery means eat enough for three on one plate leading to spills on way back to table. It must be the good value that brings out the get even more value merchants in.
If you can enjoy your food in this "bun fight" atmosphere then fine. Not somewhere to take a date though.
Because it is busy the meats and veg stay fresh cooked and there lies my dilemma the food sells this place it's great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie5366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chelmer Tavern also viewed

South Hanningfield, Chelmsford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing