We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food and Service”
Review of The Lion Inn

The Lion Inn
Ranked #9 of 383 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Whether you are with us for lunch or dinner, we provide a friendly, vibrant atmosphere amongst very eclectic surroundings.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Yet another great meal, friendly staff and reasonable prices, their burger is without doubt the best in Essex!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmirams, Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your huge appreciation of our burger - our other dishes are also very tasty if you ever feel like a change.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,457 - 1,461 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were en route to Suffolk along the A12 on a Saturday lunchtime - and had such a good experience here, having done a bit of research top try to find an alternative to stopping at the services. This place was not far from the A12. The restaurant decor was appealing and the waiting staff very smartly dressed. The service was extremely efficient and the food delicious and before we knew it we were back on the road having lunched so satisfactorily.

1  Thank JudyH008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmirams, Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased we could re-fuel you for your journey. Do drop in next time you are passing.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Pleasantly surprised had a lovely meal here with wife on a Sunday night good choice of food well cooked not too expensive and service was friendly and professional. For a large restaurant they are very good with the added advantage of not having to book and being open on a Sunday evening. We will happily go back again to try some more of the lovely food on offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve-Chivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmirams, Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for posting your review.

Your positive comments regarding the quality of food and good service is very much appreciated. We hope we will continue to impress when next you visit.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Visited The Lion on Saturday evening, we had been advised that we could not book unless our party was 10 or more. On this premise we decided to arrive early, just after 6. Pleased that we had, as we were seated almost immediately.. However, within half an hour the restaurant was full.....bearing in mind this can seat a guesstimate of about 200 at one time!
We had absolutely no complaints about either the food or the service....both were first class! Varied menu, beautifully presented, pleasant staff and all food delivered at very satisfiable intervals, neither rushed, nor late.
Our only concern was that customers who had arrived slightly later than ourselves were going to have to wait at least an hour to be seated...obviously this was not our problem, but just most pleased that we had arrived early..
Congratulations to the staff, who were coping magnificently.
With all of this in mind, I would still return, however would probably choose another evening apart from Saturday.....or take 9 other pals so I could book!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmirams, Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are really pleased that we met all of your expectations during your visit - our staff do work extremely hard to ensure we provide the best possible experience even when it is very busy.

When you next choose to eat with us, do remember we do not take any bookings for the restaurant on Saturday evenings. Parties of 10 or more may book Sunday through Friday dependent upon availability.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went here for a lunch meeting an the food was absolutely fantastic! I had the fish pie which had huge chunks of haddock and salmon together with King Prawns and creamy, cheesy mash topping. My colleagues had the pie of the day which they stated was the best they had eaten in a very long time! Service was timely and polite and the whole atmosphere is classy but homely at the same time. Would highly recommend!

Thank SVC7285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmirams, Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us. Please do visit us again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion Inn also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing