We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hare Breakfast Club”

The Hare at Roxwell
Ranked #15 of 371 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Hare Breakfast Club”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

1st Saturday of the Month Breakfast Club for car enthusiasts. Opens at 9am for breakfast. Unfortunately, although a lovely location it has a too small and unmanaged car park which means that if you get there early, (some reportedly arrived ay 7.30 to get a space) you'll be 'trapped' until there is a space to leave, and much after 9am and you'll find nowhere to park at all - a wasted journey. The breakfasts are good, if a little pricey for the standard (£10). Although advertised as having tea and danish pastries complimentary of the pub, again anytime after 09.30 and they will have gone, not to be replenished at all. The salt in the wound is the raffle, £1 a ticket (£5 a strip) which we happily paid up for thinking it was for some worthy local good cause - no it was to " ...pay for the tea and danish pastries and the staff who have to be paid you know...". Bad form.. No, they were supposedly 'complimentary' were they not...

Staff appeared not unfriendly, but not exactly welcomed with open arms.

Some nice cars (if too many Porsches) but overcrowded, Nice idea but needs better management, and more approachable staff I think...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MickB2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    191
    65
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Petrolhead dream breakfast”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wow! Heard a rumour that a great fry up eaten to the sound of performance cars was available in the beautiful Essex countryside. It is and it was a shiny sunny day with the car owners obviously having been up early to polish the cars.
The breakfast was freshly cooked and the sausages were amazing. Not an egg fan, but these fried eggs were not greasy and had bright yolks. Coffee was OK.
Will revisit to try lunch one weekend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTS_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A lovely venue but food presentation needs upgrading”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a lovely venue in a beautiful setting with very friendly helpful staff. However the presentation of a sandwich I ordered was very disappointing for such an upmarket dining pub with both slices of my bread hard where the bread in the kitchen had not been covered for freshness.

I think it would be useful if the kitchen staff had some additional training in this area as well as presentation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valena18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fantastic food with excellent service from very friendly but professional staff.
Robert and his team are second to none and I would not hesitate to promote the
restaurant.
The best choice of desserts ever and at an affordable price.
Can't wait for next visit Thanks x

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lainey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Baddow, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rubbish fathers day meal”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What an absolute waste of time and and money today (17.06.13) - Took my partner here with our 2 girls (age 2 and 9 weeks) - we waited nearly 1 hour for our starters and nearly an extra 40 minutes for our main.

The Roast dinner I ordered and was taste less. The roast potatoes are the worse I have ever had. My partner order steak and kidney pie. He said the pie was like a puka pie and the potatoes he didn't want to eat all!! Def would not recommend to anyone - such a shame as the restaurant has real potential!! could of cooked a much better roast myself!!!

Also told the manager the meal was poor and all he offered was some more of those rubbish potatoes. we wont be going back!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ness060480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare at Roxwell also viewed

 

Been to The Hare at Roxwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing