We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelmsford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage at Phoenix House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 20 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have stayed here before when we were working close to this B&B, on finding ourselves again in the area this was the first place we contacted.

Another excellent stay, we can highly recommend this delightful cottage, and we will definitely be returning.

Many thanks to our hosts Jane & Tim, not forgetting Molly of course.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We found Jane excellent to deal with. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and roomy. Very comfortable and with all you could possibly need for your stay. It's also set in beautiful country surroundings. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were fortunate to find this marvellous property whilst travelling through the U.K. The cottage is spacious, very well appointed and has all amenities provided including toiletries, tea and coffee facilities and ladies - a hair dryer! A full English breakfast is provided or Continental if preferred and this is served in the Family's delightful breakfast room which overlooks the spacious and well kept gardens. There are no cooking facilities here but there are a number of Pubs and places that one can eat at within easy driving, a list is provided for same. London is only 40 minutes away by rail from the closest railway station and it is easy to drive to Cambridge for sightseeing etc. Do follow the driving instructions provided to locate the property, do not rely on GPS or road maps.

Room Tip: There is only the cottage available which consists of a double bedroom, lounge room with TV and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviews255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We needed to find accommodation for the weekend to visit a family event. The Phoenix cottage seemed to present excellent value in a rural location. When we arrived we found the cottage well presented and finished to a high standard. The cottage is provided with excellent facilities. You will find ample DVD's, books and games to keep you entertained if the weather turns bad. And with a quiet road and comfortable bed that guarantees a good night's sleep.

The location is idyllic, with views over the country side. Breakfast is served overlooking well kept and attractive gardens. This only improves the taste of your high quality food. All this at a price that is excellent value. Probably one of the best value B&B's we have stayed at in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgers872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I lived just a few miles away in Boreham and love the location. The idea is we might well retire here, after a few more stays at this wonderful B and B.
We prefer B and B accommodation and reject hotels because of their impersonal nature.
We had the added bonus of the extra living room. Bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfasts were first class. I can honestly say that this is the best accommodation we have stayed in, and we intend to come back very soon.
Mollie, the black Labrador, is a beauty too and very welcoming.
The gardens are extensive and house a nice area for the three chickens..I wondered where the lovely eggs came from.
Thank you for a super stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It certainly lived up to it's star ratings in all categories! What a wonderful place to stay with delightful hosts, including our "greeter" Molly. We travel a lot and like to stay at B&B's. Without a doubt this has to be the best we have ever stayed in. We needed a place to stay for 9 days in central Essex to visit family and friends on our trip from Canada. Jayne and Tim were great hosts and helped us out with directions, maps, etc., and recommendations for local sites and places to eat. The furnishings, bed, linen, etc., are excellent and ensured a good nights sleep after our usual long day out. One of the things we liked most was that you are the only ones there and we felt we were treated like royalty ever day. The breakfasts and home made cookies were delicious and Jayne and Tim were happy to supply us with fresh milk for tea whenever we needed it. For a long stay like ours, having a lounge was perfect and on two occasions we actually invited our friends back to the house for a chat after a great local pub lunch. That's how nice a place it is. We also loved the quiet and peaceful surroundings and the local wildlife, yet we were in easy reach of our friends who are spread around all corners of Essex. We have already recommended it to two of our friends who are looking for a peaceful weekend and country walks. Cannot say enough - incredible value, delightful, and made our stay in Essex a memorable one. Hilda & Mike - Ottawa. Canada.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

... and excellent place to explore the coast of Essex and Suffolk. Beautiful house, gorgeous and fine breakfast, very kind owners... Absolutely no doubts concerning our next stay in Essex.

Stefan & Lucrèce

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanD579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
10.7 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
365 reviews
6.9 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
454 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 11 in Chelmsford
477 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 11 in Chelmsford
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage at Phoenix House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage at Phoenix House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Cottage at Phoenix House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Phoenix House Fairstead Hall Road, Chelmsford CM3 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, boutique bed and breakfast accommodation in a ground floor guest suite offering complete privacy. A peaceful haven to return to after a busy day. Surrounded by beautiful countryside with far reaching views off the beaten track. Truly the best of both worlds, rural yet close to Chelmsford, Witham, Braintree and Hatfield Peverel. Only 25 minutes to Stansted Airport. Free WiFi. An idyllic location and a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage At Phoenix House Bed And Breakfast Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing