We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Grounds.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hylands House

Hylands House
Ranked #6 of 37 things to do in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hylands House and the grounds are very impressive.

The park itself is perfect for walking the dog or simply relaxing. There are facilities available, including toilets, a cafe and a shop.

The house itself hosts events throughout the year and it is a beautiful, striking building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    57
    26
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Imposing building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Imposing building, disappointing inside. I would rather spend my time walking around the beautiful grounds.
The park area is ideal for flying kites and picnics.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiacrewe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have been to this park before, and wanted to go back to show my grandchildren, a little disappointed not able to go into the adventure play area due to the V festival, but when next here I will most definitely go back.
The park is massive the house was a little weird - spooky!
The grounds are well worth the visit, next time I will avoid August!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiacrewe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hylands Park - Run up to V-Festival 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hylands Park is a wonderful area to play in and explore with young children with vast open areas and gardens. We had wanted to try out the new 'Adventure Castle Play Area' which has been updated this year, but alas this falls within the public restricted area due to the preparations for the V Festival which runs between 16-18 August. Be warned of the following information...

- Entrance 2 Writtle Gate is closed 5 to 25 August 2013
- Use either Entrance 1 the main Hylands House from A414 dual carriageway or Entrance 3 the Writtle By-Pass from the A414 Greenbury Way

- Stables visitor centre, pleasure gardens and one world is closed between 15 Aug to 23 Aug 2013
- V Festival weekend 16 Aug to 18 Aug 2013 is for event goers only

- There is a public restricted area in the park from 5 to 26 August during preparation, the show and dismantling. It is possible to walk around the restricted area using the provided map but not through it.

We were very disappointed our children could not play in the new adventure area during the summer holidays and that this information was not published on the web site at the time we researched.

For more information contact Parks & Heritage Services on 01245 605566 at Chelmsford City council.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 7ofX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
199 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“visit the Dry Gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visit here regularly and this is a long term project with enormous potential. Without a doubt the high spot is the superb dry gardens. There is also an excellent rose garden and several rural walks around the perimeter.
The visitor centre is new and well appointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimbosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hylands House also viewed

 

Been to Hylands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing