We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bartellas

Bartellas
Ranked #4 of 366 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went here one Friday lunchtime as a special treat. Being situated just outside of Chelmsford City centre we were not surprised to see that it was not particularly busy but as we were after a relaxed and leisurely meal this did not worry us and in any event despite it's size the area we sat in had an air of intimacy. The meal itself was excellent. My haddock and soft boiled quails eggs was perfect and my wife enjoyed her salmon and prawn timbale although she would have liked the horseradish cream to have been a touch stronger. For mains we both chose the rump of lamb which was cooked to perfection, beautifully tender, and full of flavour. I would also commend them for the vegetables which again were perfectly cooked - I always reckon one of the tests of a good kitchen is their ability to produce good vegetables. The only minor criticism we would make is that they have followed the current trait of producing "smears" of puréed food and "spots" of jus. Consequently although the meal did have puréed parsnip it was more decorative than part of the taste experience. And to be fair when we asked if we could have more of the delicious jus a pot of it was quickly delivered. The desserts were good, especially my bitter dark chocolate tart and we eventually finished our rather indulgent but immensely enjoyable lunch with coffee. Despite having lived in Chelmsford for many years this was our first visit, largely because when previously I've checked their menu it seemed to be delivering a standard Italian meal which was probably very nice but not exciting. Things have clearly changed as now the menu is much more Mediterranean and has some interesting and innovative dishes.
So impressed were we that we immediately booked for their next tribute and dance evening.
lso

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chelms4dian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the restaurant.
I am pleased that the changes we have made to the menu recently were enough to tempt you to try Bartellas for the first time and I will make sure that your comments about the menu and food are passed on to the chef and his team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and maybe you'll even think about joining us over the festive season, our Christmas programme is now available in the restaurant and online.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    92
    23
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would recommend!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We chose to go to Bartellas as we wanted to try somewhere new and the reviews were good. We're glad we went and were not disappointed. The service, food and wine were all very good and the price too (We chose from the fixed price menu). It was quite loud in the restaurant as there were lots of large tables which we were sat amongst so it did mean we had to talk quite loudly (almost shout on occasions!) to each other but it certainly didn't put us off going back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stoutypants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit.
I'm pleased you enjoyed the experience and were well looked after by the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special Occasion”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went there for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. When we arrived we were greeted right away by Jackie who was very friendly and attentive and sat in the lounge area for a drink and nibbles while we waited for our table of which we were given the option of where we wanted to sit. Can not fault the service, it was first class by all staff and the food was superb. It was such a relaxing atmosphere and at no point were we rushed to choose anything from the menu. All in all a 10/10 for an all round experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit and Happy Anniversary!
I'm pleased to read you were well looked after by the team, I will make sure your comments are passed on to them.
We do pride ourselves on high standards of food and service and I'm pleased you enjoyed celebrating your special evening with us.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This restaurant made our wedding day fantastic AMAZING.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Hi,
I have to say that this restaurant, staff , food, grounds and service are totally fantastic and hand on heart cannot fault bartellas at all. My wife and i selected this venue to host 50 guests ( inc children ) for our wedding meal. We had met terry george a few weeks prior to our event who of which was very helpful,kind and understanding. We had a feeling that after this meeting we wouldnt be dissapointed, and we wasnt. The service was totaly perfect , fast, polite and swift and very smartly delivered. Each course was delivered to the bride and groom first and so on. The food was amazing. Each of our guests commented how amazing the experience was. There is no truer saying than " you pay for what you get " . I just want on to say thank you all at bartellas for making our wedding day perfect on behalf of my wife and I. A SPECIAL THANK YOU GOES TO TERRY GEORGE FOR MASTERMINDING A PERFECT EVENT. SEE YOU SOON ROB & SAIR

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welovemappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review following your wedding reception at Bartellas last week.
Firstly congratulations, I am pleased to hear that the day was a success and that you and your guests were well looked after by Terry the team.
The flexibility of the space available within the restaurant makes the conservatory area perfect for people looking to host a wedding or other celebration within a restaurant environment and this is something we are starting to branch in to and looking to do more of, for those looking for something more private we also have a first floor function suite available.
I will make sure your comments are passed on to all the staff involved and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bartellas again very soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Condamine, Monaco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful evening with friends!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently enjoyed a wonderful evening at Bartella’s. We were welcomed right away and enjoyed pre dinner drinks and nibbles in the relaxed lounge area. There was a fabulous relaxed atmosphere in this elegant restaurant. We were offered an excellent choice of dishes from the menu, which were all very reasonably priced. The service was superb; very attentive and knowledgeable. The food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! Bartella’s is certainly a restaurant I will be returning to!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Bartellas.
We pride ourselves on high standards of both food and service and I will make sure that your positive comments are passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area again.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartellas also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Bartellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing