We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, good service”
Review of Bartellas

Bartellas
Ranked #4 of 368 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A smart looking place but unfortunately for a Friday night very under populated. Six of us with a travel zoo offer, why had I never seen or heard of this place before. Its hidden out of the way just off the A12, not to be confused with the neighbouring hotel and restaurant. This looked like a wonderful place to have a wedding in - not that I fit that catagory. It is tastefully decorated just lacking a few more guests. The chef clearly knows his stuff, lovely mussels with cider, cream and bacon - I hadnt had that combination before, yummy. The main courses were on the large side, be mindful of over ordering the vegetables which are extra. This is one area which I object to with restaurants. The service was swift and polite. One of the waiters did a neat trick pouring a glass of wine from a carafe at a height on the next table, it was almost a shame we had ordered bottles. I would go again with a group, not as a couple.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ninapup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the food and service, although we do offer side dishes of vegetables all of the dishes on our menu are self contained and can be enjoyed without having to purchase extra but people often like to add a selection to share.
I will make sure that your very positive comments are passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    96
    23
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
431 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A Valentines Meal where we were treated like Royalty”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After driving past Bartellas many times and visiting Ivy Hill we found out they were doing a special Valentines Day dinner with live music by a Flute and Harp Duo.

This sounded just what we needed, but never being here before we did not know what to expect.

Upon our arrival we were very well looked after by the staff, we were checked in at the door and our coats taken away to their cloakroom. We were then taken to our specified table by a young gentlemen who pulled our chairs out to be sat. (little things like this made you feel special and made your time in the restaurant feel a bit more like an event than a meal)

Once sat we were offered complimentary water which we were given throughout the meal, a nice touch I felt and it arrived in their own branded bottles. Upon looking through their menu we chose to have their 3 course Valentines special, the options were nice and fitted our budget. We were then given freshly baked rolls, a nice addition and they were very good. The food was cooked as requested, and was delicious. I had their steak and my wife the veggie option, both lovely and the deserts were perfect, they were very nice and obviously home made. The service throughout was always prompt and nothing was to much trouble to them.

They were well organised and overall it made the meal a lovely experience with the costs in my opinion very fair value to the attention to details, service from the staff there and good quality food.

Upon finishing our meal and settling our bill we just sat there listening to the music while finishing our drinks. My wife was then presented with a rose, a nice little end touch that you do not get at many places nowadays.

Well fed and watered we left knowing we would come again. One of the few places where you get a lot more than you feel you pay for.

Exceptional standards, eat here and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ghockley1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review following your visit on Valentine's Day.

It is always a pleasure to know that we have exceeded our customers expectations, especially on such a special evening.
We pride ourselves on high standards of food and service every day and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The wife & I visited Bartellas on 12th Feb with neither of us having been before. We were very impressed from the outset & even though we were there on the back of Travelzoo vouchers we were still treated like royalty. Loved the ambience of the place & I imagine it'll look even more beautiful in the summer with the grounds it's on. We dine on lots of Travelzoo vouchers around Essex & this is definitely one of the best restaurants we've been to so far!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tractorboyholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review following your visit last week.

We pride ourselves on high standards of food and service for all our customers and have received numerous comments from those using the Travelzoo promotion praising us for ensuring they are treated in exactly the same way as everyone else. This is very important to us and we are glad you felt welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thouroughly enjoyable evening all round.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We visited Bartellas with friends and although we both had a Travel zoo vouchers, we were treated like long lost members of the family from the moment we entered the door. We arrived early evening and there were only a few other people there, however, after we had finished our glass of sparkling wine and looked at the menu for a while the restaurant was filling up as we were shown to our table. The food was simply fantastic as was the service - attentive but not intrusive- just as it should be. All in all we all had a marvellous evening and we shall definitely be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forgelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Bartellas.
I have passed your positive comments on to the team and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and will be returning, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“FOODIE HEAVEN”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have now been to this restaurant rour times, ranging from Spring through to Winter and for lunch and evening meals. Also one of their "special" gala evenings. On every occasion the food has been absolutely fabulous. All the staff, from manager, bar and waiters make you feel very welcome from the moment you set foot in the restaurant. During the meal, the staff appear at the absolute right moment to fullfill you every need without being obtrusive. I get very angry at therude way some patrons talk to the staff. Politeness does not cost you anything. Yet the staff do not retaliate in any form. If asked to award points out of 10, I would have no hesitation to award 15!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiltyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at Bartellas, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review following your most recent of many visits.
It is always a pleasure to hear that we are exceeding expectations and customers are leaving the restaurant looking forward to returning.
I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartellas also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Bartellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing