We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Chelmsford

“The best pub in Chelmsford. ”

The Ship Public House
Ranked #2 of 51 Quick Bites in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: We are a traditional family run town pub for three generation. Serving delicious homemade food, prepared from the freshest most local produce. Our menu is varied and extensive with specials changed daily. We have six real ales, craft beers and a good selection of lagers. Our staff are friendly and welcoming, we are open all day.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The best pub in Chelmsford. Friendly staff, tasty food and beer and a strong community spirit! I come here every time and never disappointed

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank mdjacksonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 137 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2020

I have visited The Ship on many occasions for drinks with friends and family and always receive a warm welcome with great food and friendly staff. It has a cozy atmosphere and I would happily go there by myself and feel comfortable. We particularly enjoy the quizzes/music they do at various times of year. I always judge a pub by the standard of the toilet facilities (as this shows that management care about their property and customers) and The Ship toilets are the best around.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 776gillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019

The very best pub in Chelmsford, by a country mile. Friendly, helpful staff, great food, and a wide choice of drinks. Nothing else needs to be said. When your next in town go for lunch and a pint.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Warlegginsfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2019 via mobile

I highly recommend the ship for a great pub meal

Lunch or evening

Excellent food at great prices and friendly staff

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Artemis-diana-999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

I am a newby to tuna steak but thought I’d give it a go. I need not have worried it was so tasty with the Cajun seasoning and will certainly have it again here if it is on the specials board. And the chipotle mayonnaise was frankly a revelation

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ARDapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Public House also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Ship Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing