We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive site, beautiful gardens.”

RHS Garden Hyde Hall
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With sweeping panoramas, big open skies and far reaching views this Essex garden is an inspiration to visitors of all ages. The garden boasts an eclectic range of inspirational horticultural styles from traditional to modern, providing interest and colour, whatever the weather or time of year. The Garden opens daily from 10am (closed Christmas Day) and includes a restaurant, children's play area, picnic areas and garden library. The Visitor Centre is open daily from 9.30am and includes a cafe, gift & book shop and plant centre. Entry to the Visitor Centre is free of charge. Please note that Sunday trading hours apply in the shop (11am - 5pm).
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Massive site, beautiful gardens.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a beautiful RHS garden.
Very large car park with disabled spaces near the entrance.
Very good gift shop and not too expensive. Excellent food available, also not expensive. There is inside and outside seating.
There is a plant section where you can buy what you have seen in the gardens.
Mostly wheelchair accessible but beware some long slopes that would be hard for self propelled wheelchairs. Some paths have steps but you can usually find other ways around.
Wear suitable footwear as most of paths consist of gritty stones, flip flops are painful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 29-1-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    297
    67
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great gardens”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Despite the slightly off putting modern entrance and courtyard garden the older parts of this site are an absolute delight with a range of different habitats displaying plants from around the world. Definitely worth a visit if you are in this part of the world but avoid the catering! The cafe restaurant had an off putting smell of boiled cabbage and the young server had clearly swallowed a lemon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FormerFlyer19560415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fabulous borders”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our first visit to RHS Hyde Hall. It was definitely worth the wait. The gardens are amazing & well stocked with beautiful herbaceous plants & fragrant roses.My only slight disappointment was that the area that is planted up is only a small proportion compared with the size of the grounds. (Previously the only other RHS garden I have visited is Wisley, which is huge). The remainder is mostly laid to grass, so no shelter on this year's hottest day so far! For those with mobilility problems the paths are well made & very suitable for wheelchairs. Beware if you have a heart condition, the gardens are situated at the top of the long hill, but there is a buggy to drive you from the entrance to the top. Lunch in the restaurant is also to be recommended.
RHS - I have a suggestion, if you fill your garden with plants in full bloom, looking their best & very well labelled, please try & have them in the plant centre. There's no point going with cash & a long list to find none of them are stocked! I left empty handed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Biddy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A garden to remember”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

WOW, the most beautiful gardens I have seen in a long time. The roses and clematis complimented each other and the perfume was intoxicating. The herbaceous beds were marked into 'rooms' each one having different colours like blue and white, or yellow and red, really stunning. The lily pond was full of fish of all sizes and the waterlilies were a picture. The lawns were like a soft green carpet and you were even invited to remove your shoes and socks to enjoy the feel of the grass between your toes. We went in the lower café which had a limited menu and was quite highly priced but the food was delicious. The signage from the A12 is very poor, only 1 brown sign in evidence. I think we visited at the right time of year for the roses and herbaceous plants. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I can't speak highly enough of the whole experience..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzywells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful find”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We have passed the turn off for hyde hall many times. But today we decided to visit. It is a bit off the beaten track. But well worth the drive off the main road. Staff very helpful and informative. All i can say is WOW. The gardens are stunning. Very large area to cover and some up hill walking. The lawns are like carpet. Well worth a visit if you like gardens. We did not eat in any of the cafe and restaurants as prices s bit too much for what was on offer

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RHS Garden Hyde Hall also viewed

 

Been to RHS Garden Hyde Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing