We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great day out for members” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RHS Garden Hyde Hall

RHS Garden Hyde Hall
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With sweeping panoramas, big open skies and far reaching views this Essex garden is an inspiration to visitors of all ages. The garden boasts an eclectic range of inspirational horticultural styles from traditional to modern, providing interest and colour, whatever the weather or time of year. The Garden opens daily from 10am (closed Christmas Day) and includes a restaurant, children's play area, picnic areas and garden library. The Visitor Centre is open daily from 9.30am and includes a cafe, gift & book shop and plant centre. Entry to the Visitor Centre is free of charge. Please note that Sunday trading hours apply in the shop (11am - 5pm).
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great day out for members”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

we visit monthly and because we are members of the RHS the visit is free. The food is very good, although prices are rising. Makes a lovely afternoon with changing foliage all the time. Excellent shop and garden center.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank alice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    274
    59
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A nice day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

A nice day out if the weather is good. Would like to return in the summer when more plants are flowering.
Nice cafe - lovely lemon cake!
The main reason for our visit was the craft fair that was going on that weekend, which was ok but we thought it would be bigger.
Will definitely return occasionally if we get the right weather for it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheekybabymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“RHS Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Repair work ongoing in one area but still a delightful place to visit. A very overcast afternoon but very interesting to walk round. The sort of garden that gives you ideas as to how you could replicate in your own. Very nice food in the clean restaurant. Altogether a lovely place to visit on your own or with family or friends

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not as big or busy as Wisley Gardens and with some area still under development. Lovely spring flowers. Nice restaurant and shop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank austefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“craft fair may bank holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have enjoyed a couple of visits to Hyde Hall in the past and been very happy. However the craft fair was very dissapointing. It was billed as a huge event with loads of craft stalls. There were a couple of marquees with small tables around the edges, with very limited displays, and a very hot barn which had a one way system which didnt work with families with children and buggies!!. I was a little embarrased as people seemed to walk in and walk out again without buying or looking for very long (us included)
The biggest problem - the RHS opened its gates to hundereds of visitors but didnt increase the food or drink facilities. The cafe at the centre of the gardens was packed and people queued out the door and along the path 4 deep, there were no free tables and chairs. If you wanted a quick coffee or cold drink there was NOTHING! I would have hoped for some food and drink stalls to sell to the hot and hungry hoards? My husband and I were so thirsty we braved the cafe at the entrance on the way out - it took half an hour to reach the front of the queue! Only 2 staff were at the tills and both were making the hot drinks which slowed things down to a snails pace....i saw so many people just give up and walk out.
Next time, think about the public who come to see your beautiful gardens.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RHS Garden Hyde Hall also viewed

 

Been to RHS Garden Hyde Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing