We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outside appearance is deceptive- very nice affordable place to eat”
Review of The Corner Lounge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Corner Lounge
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Outside appearance is deceptive- very nice affordable place to eat”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I think the outside appearance of Corner lounge puts a lot of people off as it is quite dark and unwelcoming, looking more like a club than a restaurant. This often means that there are few people in there during the day which is a shame as the food tastes very home cooked and is a really good price for the amount of toppings you get and the size of the pizza/pasta dishes. The panninis are also very nice if you want something a bit lighter. We go quite a lot and I would thoroughly recommend people to try it (even with the slight lack of ambience). Important to note that half a beer is much more than half the price of a full pint.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrosbyFieldsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chelmsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“evening out”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The food was great and whilst I had to wait 20 minutes for my food to arrive I was in no hurry as this was a leisurely night out not a marathon. I felt the owner and his wife would have done their best to ensure my food arrived earlier had I explained a reason for my rush if there was one.
Customers need to inform the restaurant before they sit down as to their expectations this way the management have a chance to reach those expectations or be honest and say they can't, a majority of customers that come to this restaurant are on a evening out. If customers want quick food mcdonalds is down the road.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This has to be one of the worst places I've ever eaten!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Went with a group of colleagues for lunch.
Service- slow does not begin to describe it. Took ages for our order to be taken, there we no other customers at the time. Then took ages for our drinks to arrive.
When our food finally arrived half of our meals were wrong- the waitress just blamed the chef. No apologies or attempt to compensate us.

None of us would ever go there again.. I don't like to give such a poor review, but I would hate others to experience the same.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LittlemissPink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pizza and Pasta ever at Italian restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Have been to many restaurants,but never have me and my family tasted Italian food this good,and I have ate in Italy.The staff were extremely friendly and the restaurant packed with many vicars from the cathedral.We had the specials of the lunchtime special board and were full up which takes a lot believe me with our appetites.Will definitely go back next year..

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
350 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“As a town centre Italian it is fine”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We were there for dinner and sat alone all evening. Food was perfectly good, not outstanding just perfectly good. Service was also fine but then we the only customers. Give it a go but do not expect too much.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnandCarolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Lounge also viewed

South Hanningfield, Chelmsford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing