We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Glad..”

The Green Man - Edney
Ranked #25 of 368 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
essex
Level Contributor
287 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“So Glad..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Have been going now 2 years to this delightful pub/restaurant, and so glad that other people are realising what a little gem it is, if you venture here and like chocolate deserts try the Nemisis, you may ask for a second serving!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank stevebillericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwalk33, Owner at The Green Man - Edney, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hi Steve,

Thank you for a lovely review once again. It's always a pleasure to have you dine with us.

Kind regards,
All at The Green Man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    49
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a brilliant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I found this gem through Tastecard, having not read any reviews online before we went, we were not expecting the amazing meal that we were served.
Once looking at the menu we quickly decided to go for a starter as well as main course, and once the starter arrived we knew we would have to try a desert too!
The quality of the food was absolutely superb, and we actually felt a little guilty using the 2 for 1 Tastecard offer, as the food was definitley worth full price. Friendly service and surrounding.
Can't wait to go back here on Thursday to celebrate a Birthday! I would recommend anyone to try this wonderful pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An excellent way to start a pub walk........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We went to this pub with my parents on their recommendation and were not disappointed. The pub was very quiet and I think we were the only diners (late lunch on a Wednesday). My parents said that they've found it hard to get a table when they've come before for evening meals. We were welcomed with smiles and menus and shown to a table in the pretty courtyard, as we'd expressed a preference to sit outside. The barman even moved an umbrella so that my youngest daughter had some shade. Our drinks were brought promptly and we were given plenty of space to decide on our order. The menu was not huge but there was still plenty of choice to suit the varying tastes of the five diners present. The food was cooked to order, the ingredients were fresh and the plates arrived beautifully presented. We ate at a leisurely pace and were not rushed to settle up even though we were finishing our meals very close to closing time at 3pm. I would recommend the associated circular pub walk that takes you through some beautiful Essex countryside. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent xx”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Another great visit to this gem of a pub. Great food and good service . Love siting in the courtyard garden . Hubby very impressed with his pasta as was I . Thank you for accommodating my mum who wanted a omelette . It was lovely . Keep up the good work. You have gained two happy customers . We will be visiting again soon with other family .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubies456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

As a family we always choose to go to the green man when having dinner or lunch out. The food is fab you cannot fault it. I love the Indian chicken. You will always find something you like on the menu. Good atmosphere and friendly staff. We'll worth a visit. Definitely recommend this restaurant. Ideal for couples and families.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man - Edney also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Green Man - Edney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing