We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!”
Review of Zen Noodle Bar

Zen Noodle Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Zen Noodle Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 371 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Have been here a few times the last couple of times has been with a friend and the time before was with a big group. Both times, the service and quality of food has been amazing, the only downfall is the size of the portions. The restaurant could slash some of it's prices and serve better portion sizes, on all occasions i've visited it hardly looks like i've even touched the plate.

The starters come out with the main course so if you would like them separately remember to let your server know!

Very good selection on the menu with specials that change frequently.

Definitley worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    79
    30
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, cleanliness could be better ”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the food but was a bit dismayed to see the state of the toilets. Unfortunately this has put me off visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank njdavies478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable team lunch”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have visited here a couple of times now with work colleagues and as a team meal and both times it was highly enjoyable. I tried 2 different dishes and was not disappointed with either - and the portions are generous. The staff were friendly and the service was quick, which reduces the worry of returning to work in your lunch hour.
Although it is not as cheap as going out for a sandwich, it is certainly good for those payday lunches and is a popular choice of eatery at the company I work for.
So, if you enjoy noodles and are in the Chelmsford area, I would recommend a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

After spending a long day in Chelmsford we stopped here before heading back home and what a great decision. The restaurant interior is very nice and the service very fast. We ordered the katsu curry and the seafood noodles with steamed pork & prawn dumplings. The food arrived quickly and was exceptional, the dumplings were sublime and the katsu curry was perfectly cooked. So many places try and fail with their own variations of a Chinese menu but this place has nailed it. I was so impressed with the whole menu and i shall definitely be going there again should i visit Chelmsford in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mip1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The duck is amazing!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had a really love meal in Zen Noodle Bar on a Saturday night. The service was friendly and prompt and we didn't have to wait long for the food to arrive - much to our delight! There was 6 of us, 4 of us had the Cantonese Duck with rice, one other had Pad Thai, and one other had King prawn and garlic with noodles. Everyone really loved their food, and it was such a nice relaxing atmosphere as well.
I can't comment on whether all these good points are consistently good as I've only eaten here the once so far, but I will definitely be visiting again - and they do take away's too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Noodle Bar also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Zen Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing