We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful little gem”
Review of Lanthong

Lanthong
Ranked #55 of 373 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful little gem”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic meal at the Lanthong yesterday evening - we had looked up the restaurant on Tripadvisor and chose it because of its good reviews. We were a little put of by the website, but are so glad we disregarded our doubts. We ate early and were the first diners to arrive, but the place was soon buzzing with other customers. We were welcomed by the bar manager and the chef's wife who were both charming, friendly and helpful. The decor in the restaurant is a little tired, but the atmosphere is so warm and the food absolutely delicious - possibly the best Thai food I have eaten outside of Thailand. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marita9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic food, Good Service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I have had take away and dine at Lanthong and both times the food has been fantastic. Dine in service is quite good, and the food is very tasty. None of the food seems pre cooked, it tastes like its made fresh to order. I did think that some dishes were a £ or two over priced, which may be the reason it why the restaurant wasn't completely full. But if that's not a real concern for you then definitely give them a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Netani88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This has been a favourite for many years. Truly feels like an authentic Thai dining experience. Food is always excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent thai food with good friendly service”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ate here over easter weekend and the food was faultless and service excellent!! We used to be regulars in one of the other thai restaurants in town but decided after recommendation to give Lan Thong a try. We were definitely impressed. The food was all freshly cooked, steaming hot when in came out and full of flavour. I can recommend the thai fishcakes and pad thai noodles!!! The staff are all very friendly and welcoming and service was very good. As per one of the other reviews maybe the decor is not as flash as some other places but its very cosy and welcoming inside and the food certainly impresses!! Dont walk past this place give it try, we will definitely be regulars now!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PolishGirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Thai Restaurant, don't miss out”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Been going here for years. Always excellent food, really good service and very very nice people. I'll admit as others have said could do with a lick of paint but not as bad as some have made out and the food and people make up for it. Plenty of shiny restaurants in Chelmsford but many let themselves down on food and service, Lanthong don't so ignore the little staircase going up and enjoy the food and people.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanthong also viewed

 

Been to Lanthong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing