We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in chelmsford for fish, chips and kebabs combined”
Review of Mr Rams & Mrs Cod

Mr Rams & Mrs Cod
Ranked #273 of 368 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best place in chelmsford for fish, chips and kebabs combined”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

a jack of all trades a master of none. But the portions are generous, the service always polite, the prices very competitive, hygiene is 4 star rated according to the council (its old but they are always cleaning) and like for like the best in its class.

I wouldnt order kebabs from anywhere else in chelmsford.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tyfairclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    13
    11
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good local Chippy”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

we use these two shops regularly and the food is always very good, the guys behind the counter are always very pleasant, always a pleasure to go in here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Eat here if you want food poisoning!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had rock and chips with fried chicken so did my partner. We were both really ill after. The place was filthy and the staff were slimy perverts. Food was flavourless and really greasy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparkle310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgraceful”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ordering food with a friend, and the guy at the cashier must've got my order wrong, gave me different food to what i ordered, then started shouting and swearing saying i got the order wrong, none of the other "employees" had anything to say, and then started speaking their own language, guess they were saying something about me but who cares, not going there again, the place also looks unhygienic, aswell as the workers, poor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank An0nym0u5123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Happy Customer.....35 years Man 'n' Boy”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've been coming to Rams since I was a teenager and let me tell you this....Rams is the BEST. They have never failed to impress in all the time I've visited. IMHO, if 35 experience is not enough to convince potential customers to give Rams a try, I don't know what more I can say.

I do a lot of travelling for work and often arrive in a town late at night and forced in to eating some pretty dire kebabs. Rams sets the standard and no other kebab shop meets it. Friendly staff, great kebabs....what more do you need?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trev1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Rams & Mrs Cod also viewed

 
South Hanningfield, Chelmsford
 

Been to Mr Rams & Mrs Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing