We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chelmsford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boswell House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here a while back on business. Can't fault the location and the train station is nearby. The hotel is very dated, its very 1980's in there. The people that run the hotel are lovely, they are more then helpful and make you feel welcome.
The bedrooms are very dated, the furniture is old, I like the idea of a teasmade but it's certainly not what I am used to.
It was comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was brilliant, the host was welcoming and very personal.
I would recommend this hotel, although its dated it does add a touch to a hotel of home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed one night on business and found the location to be ideally situated for the train station and town centre. It is also near the Riverside pub, which has a nice beer garden as well as other riverside restaurants and bars/cafes. The accommodation was clean and spacious (I stayed in a double room) and the breakfast was excellent. Free wifi and parking. I would certainly stay again and recommend for business/holiday visits to the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seashell109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Boswell House is a small family run hotel. I found it very clean and comfortable and the free wifi and car parking made it an ideal place to base myself for work in the town

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed one night on business. Very satisfied and would recommend. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Felt very safe as a woman traveling alone. Staff helpful and friendly without being over friendly. Good value for money compared with the local Travelodge where I have also stayed. Furniture and fittings are not all brand new, but are clearly well maintained, eg none of the mouldy showers that you sometimes get in other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jop23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a great family run Hotel. I stayed one night because i had a job interval the next day. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good.

The price compared very favorably to other hotels i have stayed in in Chelmsford and i would recommend it to any one. This is the first time i have seen a 'Teas-maid' i believe they are called; it was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

I have stayed here on and off for periods of up to 8 months as the work in Essex demanded. After day one in 2006, I didn't bother looking for something cheaper as the quality of the rooms, food and surrounding suited me fine.
I stay away from home quite a lot and really don't like the impersonal surroundings and copious "add-ons" of the big chains.
This small family run hotel is close to the town centre, provides easy access to the rail network, (London ½ hour), and is a must for anyone wishing to go to the Olympics.
Ignore the 2 Stars, it's worth at least 4 in my book.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcadash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

The Boswell House Hotel is a small, unpretentious hotel, and it proved to be an excellent choice for our stay in Chelmsford. The owners were especially helpful and interesting, and even assisted with some of the historical research we were doing in the area. And they very kindly and very promptly sent a jacket I had left behind to the next destination on our journey. The room was basic but large, filled with a lot of light, and well-equipped with a comfortable bed, tea kettle, etc. The bathroom was quite large and very clean. It would have been helpful to have had a few extra towels, but that is a minor issue. Free wi-fi was available in the room, and a suitable breakfast was included daily. On one of the nights, there was a bit of noise from the street, but that is to be expected in a town the size of Chelmsford. Overall, this is a very good hotel, and my only reason for giving a rating of 4 rather than 5 is that it is a bit simple in the amenities provided. We would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
2.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ivy Hill Hotel
Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boswell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boswell House Hotel

Property: Boswell House Hotel
Address: 118-120 Springfield Road, Chelmsford CM2 6LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chelmsford
#4 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boswell House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Boswell House Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing