We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky place, shame about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Acanteen

Acanteen
Ranked #23 of 366 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Funky place, shame about the food”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My girlfiend and I popped into acanteen after some shopping in town recently. We had been in for coffee a few times previously which was very nice so thought we would have some food this time. We ordered a quinoa salad with green beans and falafels. The food was so poor I thought I needed to write a review.

The beans were smothered in orange rind which took away any subtle flavour from the beans. The falafels were dry beyond belief (I actually commented the ones we buy in Asda were better) and the quinoa was covered in cinammon and looked like it had been left out for days. The food cost us £7.95 which I thought was way more than it was worth. We ended up leaving most of it and popping into M&S for a salad.

The cappucino and hot chocolates were both very good and the couple behind had a much better looking bacon and portobello mushrooms on toast so perhaps we were just unlucky.

Something else to mention is the tap waters we asked for were brought up in dirty glasses and my girlfriends still had someone else's lipstick on. I know this place has a rustic/organic image but they surely still have a dishwasher?!

Wont be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma O, Owner at Acanteen, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi,
I am so sorry and shocked to read your review. We make our salads fresh everyday and sell lots of them, both eat in and take away and for outside catering. Our salads are a real customer favourite. It's a shame you didn't let us know as would have been more than happy to have offered you something else from our menu.
Regards,
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    221
    76
    75
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great grub and not too pricey.”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Acanteen has a great range of fabulous food. Go once and you'll find yourself back there again. Not the cheapest but well worth every penny.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank unkie_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma O, Owner at Acanteen, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review.
We really try our best to offer value for money.
Hope to serve you again soon!
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant value for money!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great home made food at a reasonable price. You always have plenty to fill you up and the food is brilliant quality! Can't recommend enough

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrier247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing chilled out lunch”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Went for lunch today with a friend. We both had a Greek wrap with salad which was amazing, so fresh and tasty !!! Really good buzz . Place was packed, which says it all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shellywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma O, Owner at Acanteen, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Essex”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Went for breakfast the poached eggs were done perfectly, the coffee ok Enjoyed our breakfast alot so we went back for lunch, another sucsess will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma O, Owner at Acanteen, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. I will make sure that we get the coffee as perfect as the poached eggs! See you soon.
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acanteen also viewed

 

Been to Acanteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing