We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Whitehall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitehall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broxted
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for a cousin's wedding and if it hadn't been for the fact that all our family were staying here then we would have checked straight out. The first room we were shown to smelt damp, had mould and condensation around the windows and had numerous stains on the carpet. The bedside tables had not been cleaned as there were coffee cup marks all over it. The bathroom was just as bad, hairs in the sink and it deffinitely had not been cleaned. We asked to be moved and the 2nd room was mildly better but I still didn't fancy taking my shoes off to walk on the carpet! The place felt tired and unloved and the manager spent a lot of time outside smoking! I wouldn't have minded half as much if the price to stay was seriously cheap but paying over £90.00 a night in an unclean room is not good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    3
    9
    19
See reviews for
8
27
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is tragic was s wonderful hotel 20 years ago maybe ex head chef Gary Rhodes yes THE Gary Rhodes could rescue it. It was a lovely hotel in its day and surely could be again. Money obviously needing to be spent on it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

they have not yet advertised this, or made it public knowledge,
But this venue has shut down! no one is on site AT ALL - didnt even have the courtesy to advise the people who have weddings coming up at this site!!

they have taken all the money - for the wedding venue and guest rooms - and left me with nothing

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We decided to have our wedding at Brook Whitehall. The hotel and venue took our breath away. We had family come from abroad and around the country and stayed at the hotel. On there stay there was no hot water and in some rooms no water at all. No apology and no compensation when we questioned the manager. A champagne breakfast was booked and paid for with the room but a normal breakfast was given and no answer to why they couldn't provide what was ordered. The dinner provided wasn't what we order and just got a simple "sorry" and it wasn't changed. We wouldn't recommend to anyone you will be waisting you time and money. All you will get is a "sorry" and nothing else. A complaint to the head officer isn't worth it's time either, they just say "Sorry" too and say they can't do anything to help. I'm beginning to think the company motto is SORRY

Room Tip: To choose a good room stay at the Raddison at the airport just around the corner, a little more expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

May I start by stating that I formed my opinion on only 6 hours of time at the hotel. We arrived late as we needed a sleepover before flying from Stanstead early the following morning. The check-in was satisfactory, there were no issues with regards to getting a late drink before we slept, however the bedrooms are incredibly dated/tired/worn. The main issue for me was the oppressive heat in the bedrooms, now I'm the first to admit that there is nothing worse than a chilly hotel but this was the opposite to the extreme...to the level that we couldn’t sleep even with all windows open and please bear in mind it was early March.! The thermostats on the radiator were jammed so nothing could be done other than grin and bear it. May I suggest to the 'Brook' Higher Management that addressing such an issue would clearly free some cash for urgent matters such as staffing and/or refurbishment..cummon think about it.! Never again...sorry you had your chance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed at The Brook hotel in early January 2012 and was amazed how little staff are employed, but how professional they are despite working under what appear to be very difficult conditions. I especially want to commend Trevor (night staff) for his thoughtful, professional and welcome help to resolve a problem I had . He offered 5 star service and is an assett to this hotel. The hotel itself is in need of some decoration and modernising although it retains charm and is a welcoming place. My room was acceptable and large, but again, needs to be updated. Overall, a reasonable stay for the price I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the grounds and not the front entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capetown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed here 1 night with partner and her daughter to break up a trip from N Yorkshire to SE London. Utterly charming building full of interest. It was very quiet due to it being mid january so there only appeared to be 1 member of staff on at a time but they were friendly and helpful. The bar is very basic but suited our needs and the food was good although the menu was rather limited. The room was lovely with comfy beds, a nice bathroom and a good telly, although the heating was way too high so we ended up sleeping with the window open.

I would definately reccomend this hotel for anyone flying out of Stanstead. Such a nice change from the normal chain hotels you get near airports.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehall Hotel

Property: Whitehall Hotel
Address: Church End, Broxted CM6 2BZ, England (Formerly Brook Whitehall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Broxted
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Broxted
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitehall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Elizabethan manor house is in quiet countryside, 5 miles from London Stansted Airport. It offers en-suite rooms, free parking and a 15th-century dining hall. The Brook Whitehall Hotel is in the village of Dunmow. It is less than 10 minutes' drive from Stansted Airport. Many of the large rooms have views over the gardens, lawns and quiet countryside. The rooms mix original charm with modern comforts. Hotel Rooms: 26 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Broxted, Essex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing