We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service by Jenny”
Review of The Bull

The Bull
Ranked #4 of 166 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We Had a family meal in restaurant today and we had first class service by Jenny ..One of the family members became unwell during meal and she was so caring and helpful without been too intrusive .the food was very good .. worth another visit for sure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank IrishDaveLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bull_Brentwood, Owner at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of The Bull Brentwood, we were so glad to read that you enjoyed your visit and that Jenny looked after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Many thanks Ed & Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 501 of 597 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

I live very close to the Bull and have watched it change over the years. Since the completion of its latest upgrade, my family and friends have all had the opportunity to revisit it on a number of occasions. And we are all agreed that it is now right up there with the best in the area.

In simple terms - the food is well prepared and cooked there is a good selection of dishes, the service is attentive and prompt and the overall cost does not put too big a dent in your wallet. Add in some nice beer choices, a large and well-maintained outside area, a vast car park plus Sky Sport in the bar and it really does tick all the boxes.

Will we be back there soon? You bet.

2  Thank ChrisG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bull_Brentwood, Owner at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Bull, it makes all our and our staffs hard work worthwhile! We look forward to serving you again soon. Many Thanks Ed & Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

You must, must, must go to The Bull. The restaurant is great. Not too big that you get lost in the melee, but big enough to have a good atmosphere.

Having been here before for a celebratory lunch, most of us skipped starter as the portions here are enormous. I had steak and chips. Absolutely fabulous. The steak was cooked to perfection (still mooing) and the knife went through it like butter. The chips were plentiful, far too many for me, but good chums helped me with those. I did order a side salad, which to be honest I didn't need as there are plenty of leaves on the plate. The only downside was the pepper sauce, which was more of a red wine gravy/jus with no pepper corns in it at all - thankfully I like my steak naked but said chums tried it with the chips.

Cheese for me next and again what a generous portion. Splendid!

The fizzy pop flowed and when they ran out of the white offered us pink at the same price, which was a nice touch.

The only thing I would say that let it down a little was the bar area. Don't get me wrong, the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you, but the music was loud and when said music is/was 'There's a hole in my bucket, dear Liza' it's not quite what I was expecting...

Will definitely go back and fingers crossed the music is better - lol!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank theladylunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bull_Brentwood, Owner at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Many thanks for all the lovely things you have said about The Bull. It's great to read that our team's hard work is paying off and we thank you for taking the time to let us know. We Look forward to serving you again in the near future. Many thanks Ed & Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I dined early with a friend - a bit too early, as it was a touch dead in the pub, too quiet. On the plus side - plenty of parking. On the other hand - I didn't want to hear the staff chitchat, and it was freezing cold in the draughty aircon.

However what The Bull lacked in atmos at the time it more than made up for by serving me one of the best burgers and chips I've ever had. It was a rare breed burger with absolutely perfect chips, attractively presented and piping hot.

Service was somewhat lacklustre but that burger... I would go back for another anytime.. delicious. Next time I will go later when the staff and the town has woken up a bit.

1  Thank Devon1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bull_Brentwood, Owner at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Bull and we were glad you enjoyed your burger. We are sorry that it was so quiet during your visit, in between lunch and dinner the restaurant does get less busy. With reagrds to being chilly pease always let the staff know if you have any issues as we would always go out of our way to recify any issues our guests may have. We hope you make another visit to us soon. Many thanks Ed & Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

It was my friends birthday and there were 14 of us celebrating her birthday. The table looked lovely when we arrived and there was plenty of room for us all. Most people had three courses and not one person complained. The food was perfect. Portions were very good and the service was great. The pub has a lovely relaxed feel to it and the décor is very easy on the eye. We all agreed to eat there again - soon. Top marks to The Bull for a great night!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LondonHappyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bull_Brentwood, Owner at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we were all really pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit, as the staff all work so hard to ensure that everybody has an enjoyable time here. We look forward to your next visit. Many thanks Ed & Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing