We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly hidden treasure - food up to best restaurant standards and can hold parties up to 250!”
Review of The Halfway House

The Halfway House
Ranked #49 of 188 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Halfway House is a family run business that prides itself in delivering great food and great service at a great price. As well as offering great, fresh and hearty food in our restaurant and bar we also have two venues for hire. Our beautiful Grand Marquee is available all year round, complete with access to private gardens and a private bar. It is a wonderful setting to hold your wedding or party, but is available for hire for any number of different events. Our Herongate Suite is a new addition to our business, formally a restaurant area, it has become a popular venue for events of all kinds; from baby showers to wedding parties. It's versatility makes it an ideal venue for parties of all sizes up to 150 people. Enquire today and our friendly team will help you with current availability, pricing and great value packages for whatever it is you need.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

You'd whizz by this pub on the way to Southend and perhaps stop for a quick pint but don't judge the external pub like face with the amazing beauty within! Make a special trip and savour friendly service, family hospitality at its best and really good, reasonably priced food. Everyone raves about the prawn cocktail which is huge but try the prawns in batter with a sweet chilli sauce - delicious! Portions good, melt in the mouth well-seasoned steaks and towering hamburgers. Lots of garden areas and two special places to hold weddings or parties. Safe for kiddies to run around.The car park might need an uplift but the restaurant spacious light and comfortable. Was flummoxed at the range of dishes not on the website, friendly Deanne explained there were problems updating it - there's much more than advertised! We'll be going back regularly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ranim2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHalfwayHouse_811, Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you for your review, so pleased you had a great time here at The Halfway House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 141 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

Had a fabulous time last night! Food was great (will try the lasagne next time!) both waitresses were brilliant, especially Maz xxx thanks to all of you for a really good night xxxx the manager wasn't too bad either xxxxx

Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHalfwayHouse_811, Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you for your review, so pleased you had a great time here at The Halfway House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely evening with lots of family (29) celebrating a 90th birthday, we had a sit down meal in the function room and the food was very good, it was hot and plentiful, the staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, so thank you Josh, Kate and Maz, an amazing evening had by all.

1  Thank linnyUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHalfwayHouse_811, Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Good Morning Linny,

I again thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your party that evening that are as always greatly received and deeply appreciated by myself and the team.

We always endeavour to do our best to ensure every function is as personal and memorable as possible.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back into the restaurant soon,

Regards

Joshua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

I attended a meal for my nan's 90th birthday here and what a wonderful evening it was. It was held in the function room which has its own entrance door, bar and toilets. There was 29 of us seated and the service and food was superb. The serving staff were very attentive and couldn't have been more helpful. The new Manager was available throughout the day and evening and his attention to details was wonderful. I wouldn't think twice about holding another gathering here. Thank you Josh and staff x

Thank KCC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHalfwayHouse_811, Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

KCC71,

It was an absolute pleasure for us to host such a special occasion for your Grandmother and your family.

I assure you that we always do our utmost to ensure the highest levels of service and attention to detail, and look forward to welcoming you all back soon, albeit for a function or just for some of our lovely a'la carte food.

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and I am personally already so proud of the business we are currently developing into.

Josh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017

great food and service dont let its location and possible jolly boys outing venue looks put you off this place is a diamond in the rough (the car park is rough) The food and service is excellent the staff are friendly and the food likewise

Thank essexboyngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHalfwayHouse_811, Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Essexboyngal,

Firstly I thank you for your comments regarding the location and visual element of the business as you view us from the roadside and assure you that careful consideration is currently being put into place to see how we can action and improve this.

Thank you for your lovely feedback with regards to my team and the products we serve always ensuring the very best that we are able to provide for our valued guests such as yourselves.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The Halfway House soon,

Regards

Josh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Halfway House also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The Halfway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing