We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi”
Review of Sushi City

Sushi City
Ranked #64 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of Brentwood, Sushi City offers mouth-watering sushi cuisine. Sushi City is renowned throughout the Essex area for its divine style and presentation of traditional sushi cuisine, achieved by paying special attention to every fine detail and only using the very finest ingredients.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We've been ordering from Sushi City frequently since the start and is very good however sometimes they slipped in the quality but still we are a fan.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FSO_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    6
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Take away”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

1st time we've used sushi city, food arrived quickly and well presented and fresh, good value for money.
Looking forward to ordering different things next time as they have an extensive menu!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Unique Quality Sushi style.”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Overall very good quality & tasting Sushi in the area. Way better then #O! Sushi.

However there is a slight lingering after taste, slight mouth watering & awake effect after the meal, may suggest presence of msg, or it might be just me.

There seems to be a oil glazed look to the fish where I prefer more the fresh natural moisture appearance. Maybe this oil glaze make stuff look less raw for local taste? Don't know. Nice Sushi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShinyVery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some of the best Sushi I've ever had”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Fresh sushi, great flavour combinations, the tempura prawn is my favourite. Always a good meal. I am surprised this place isn't always super busy, I think no one really knows about it yet as its off the high street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anna_lily00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
183 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise...”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I dined here one evening after I stumbled across a mention of it on a social media site. The menu is varied and contains many good dishes, however, why 'smoked salmon' is on the menu I will never know. In fifty years of interacting with Japanese I have never met ONE who likes 'smoked salmon' — so I can only assume it is for western taste (although not for me).

The decor is sparse and minimal which helps authenticity, but the could add more Japanese effect without compromise.

I ordered Sake Sashimi, Sake and Maguro Nigirizushi and Californian rolls — my wife went with a standard selection dish. My Sashimi had shades of ice still in the fish, but then we arrived just after 5:00pm when they opened so caught them slightly off-guard (I hope).

The overall taste of the fish was good, colour and sheen suggested the fish was quite fresh as well.

In conclusion, I intend to eat there again soon, it was quite enjoyable. Staff a warm, friendly and efficient also.

TIP: Check out parking beforehand, many yellow lines and restrictions in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Usuzumiishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi City also viewed

Hornchurch, Greater London
Loughton, Essex
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Sushi City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing