We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,172 results
Traveler rating
661
317
115
34
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
317
115
34
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea garden room samuel pepys sandwiches tudors restaurant catherine of aragon suite lovely garden lounge area lovely hotel wedding reception warm scones smoked salmon main building special occasion four poster bed wedding night our waiter
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 1,172 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017

The entire staff was so friendly and helpful. Nina Levillian made a fabulous dessert that I enjoyed in my room so much so that I asked for her name and have been carrying the card for months. You must experience the tea service.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and your positive feedback will be passed onto Nina, who i'm sure will be delighted to hear that her hard work has been recognised in this way. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Marygreen Manor in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Lovely venue, pleasant staff and an enjoyable afternoon tea for 28 mature ladies from our Shenfield keep fit class to celebrate our teacher's 70th birthday.
However, the high spot of the afternoon tea, the scones, were awful. Dry and stale. We did write to tell the hotel, with no response. Wrote again to the general manager and restaurant manager a couple of weeks later. Got an out of office reply from the general manager as he was on annual leave. That was 27 July so perhaps he's still on his holidays! Nothing from the restaurant manager.
Other usual elements to a special afternoon which were missing - a choice of teas, the offer being just tea or coffee. Also no pretty china, just plain function white. In addition, the ladies thought too many cakes and not enough savouries. Think these points would have been overlooked had the scones been good.
Looking at other reviews, is it just coincidence that positive reviews received a response, but bad review ignored as were my email messsages. Perhaps the beautiful Marygreen Manor Hotel feels a confidence that is established enough to ignore critism.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cathgreening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017

Have enjoyed a fabulous afternoon tea here today, chilled prosecco, excellent canapés, deserts followed by tea coffee and petit fours. Chef Majid worked magic, everything was delicious. thank you, will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Celebration Tea. Your comments will be passed on to the head chef Majid, who i'm sure will be delighted that you enjoyed your celebration tea experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017

Friendly and attentive welcome and service throughout. Our waiter was keen to help take some photos in the restaurant, explaining that was what he was there for. Historic restaurant and comfortable table at the gallery at the end of the room. Dishes were carefully presented and accompaniments explained. Traditional dishes from the set menu. Cosy lounge area overlooking afternoon tea in the conservatory. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Garden rooms look good
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent lunch which was held at the Marygreen Manor Hotel. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your day, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017

I stat regularly in Brentwood on business and use several hotels. This is one of the nicest ones. The rooms are lovely, spacious and very well equipped. They even have a teapot and fresh fruit.

Two issues though - the internet was free but very slow. Could have been a technical issue but it is far slower than other hotels. Also the food service in the lounge was very slow even though the food itself was great,

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulR2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to the Marygreen Manor Hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews