We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Essex Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed at marygreen manor each time we return to the U.K,most of our family and friends live in Essex so this is a great location for us only 2 minutes from the M25 and the A12 . Staff are very friendly and helpful , the garden rooms are ample for our needs and are clean and enough room for a couple. The hotel offers breakfast for £10 if you cannot get it with your room rate some times we have it included in the room price . Weekends can be a bit noisy if a function is on but you would expect that, tea and coffee are provided in the room if you do not want to dine at the hotel pubs and restaurants are in abundance close by. All in all a friendly hotel to stay, good car parking out front and a convenient location.

Room Tip: Rear garden rooms are much better if you are staying a weekend and want some sleep, Some rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read your comments and am glad you find our location beneficial.
We do host private functions and do our best to ensure they do not impact on our private guests' stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Marygreen Manor Hotel the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had so looked forward to our daughter's wedding - and it was perfect in every way: from the Church service (St Laurence's, Blackmore) to the splendid afternoon Reception and evening buffet at Marygreen Manor. Excellent toastmaster, waiters and waitresses - indeed all the staff at Marygreen Manor went that extra mile to make this a real day to remember. The food was superb - both the chicken meal at the Reception and the excellent evening buffet: not only beautifully cooked and prepared but plenty of it! Some guests had travelled considerable distances to attend the wedding and elected to stay the night. We live about 15 minutes away but I managed to bully my husband to staying the night also! We had a very comfortable bed and one of the best 'full English' breakfasts I've ever had in a hotel. Too many superlatives in this review to be true? Definitely not! Any hiccups? Only one - (greatly appreciated by the overnight guests, but not so much by the newly-weds, who were staying in the hotel's Bridal Suite): the early morning call sent to them by the hotel - as promptly and efficiently as Marygreen Manor did everything they were requested to do. Unfortunately, it was requested by the best man pretending to be the groom!
Many, many grateful thanks to Marygreen Manor from the mother of the bride, Olive Ford (with full agreement of the father of the bride also).

Room Tip: If someone in your group is disabled, make sure you choose a room without steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. I was glad to read how pleased you were with your daughters wedding reception. Our staff work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their time with us and it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feed back. Please accept our apologies for the early mooring call!
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Marygreen Manor Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

11 years ago we got married here at the Marygreen Manor in Brentwood. My husband decided to treat me for our 11th anniversary to a stay back in this hotel and a lovely 6 course tasting meal in the Tudor restaurant which is part of the hotel. We stayed in the Ann Cleaves room and it was all very quaint and cosy. Everything you want in a room was provided from bath robes to slippers, toiletries, fresh fruit and bottled water. It was quite a nice hot day so A/con would have been nice but we know that as these rooms are in the old part of the hotel, this just isn't going to be the case! Also the old wooden carved bed is small and we prefer a larger bed, so if we stayed again we probably wouldn't stay in one of the older Tudor rooms but maybe in one of the garden rooms with bigger beds. Our 6 course tasting meal was delicious and good value for money. The wine paring was also very good. The deputy hotel manageress (Lynette I think her name was) was extremely kind, pleasant and professional and made us feel very welcome as guests. All the hotel staff were very nice and friendly and we will definitely return again for another visit - maybe on our 12th Anniversary or before then to try the summer menu! Mr & Mrs Peak

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippap777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review. It was good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on this special occasion. We look forward to seeing you again next year - if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stay in hotels most weeks with work. This was so disappointing for the price and for its potential given it's set in such a beautiful old building. Halfhearted welcome at reception no directions to my room or advise about breakfast, eating etc. Room was on the ground floor in a separate modern block. The room was large but very dated and had much better days. My colleagues room was just the same but not as big. So so disappointing. Menu for the bar was ok. Food served very quickly by a very efficient young waiter. His older colleague however dropped things all the time including tomato ketchup which went everywhere! The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was just average but again could have been so much better if someone cared! I cannot in all consciousness recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Don't book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FortyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you very much for posting your review. I was sorry to read that you had been left disappointed by your recent stay. I have addressed the points your raised regarding your welcome and I am sorry this was below our expected standard. All of our 30 Deluxe Garden Rooms, like the one you stayed in, have been refurbished within the last 3 years. We are currently refurbishing some of our apartment stock and further bedroom refurbishments will be carried out in the latter part of this year. Our breakfast is freshly cooked to order, using some of the best locally sourced products available, and I must apologize that the breakfast you received was not to the service standard laid down by our Head Chef. I sincerely hope your are able to visit us again in the future and have the chance to enjoy the normally high standards of service we offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed near the end of May 2014 for five nights. The room was clean, but the bed, bed linens and pillows were horrible. I've never slept in a bed so uncomfortable. The pillows looked like they were here when the hotel first opened. Buy some new pillows! Same goes for the mattresses. I don't mind the décor or the size of the room, but good grief, change out items that can easily be updated!

The room was also quite stuffy. We had already opened the windows, which only resulted in a few flies coming in our room. When we called the front desk to for help, their solutions were to tell us to open the window and turn on the fan. Gee, thanks. I looked at the fan, and I wondered if it had ever been cleaned.

Overall, it was an average visit. It's such a lovely place, it really only needs a few changes to the rooms to make it great. One last thing that was bothersome: the rooms are awfully dark, along with the bathroom. Better lighting would be helpful since there wasn't much natural light.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.
Our pillows are renewed regularly. Additional pillows are available in the wardrobe. We offer non-feather pillows for guests with feather related allergy's and also have some firmer pillows available. please be assured that had this been brought to our attention during your stay every effort would have been made to find you a more suitable pillow. Our mattresses are also checked and turned regularly with replacements purchased as required. Please be assured that I will ensure the mattress in the room you used is double checked by our Head Housekeeper. Our bedding is all pure cotton and again this is replaced as necessary by our laundry supplier.

Fans were recently put in to our rooms for the summer months. They were thoroughly cleaned before they were taken to the rooms and have since been dusted on a daily basis. When you contacted reception to say that you found your room to "stuffy" it was suggested that you open the windows and use the fan provided hoping that this would increase airflow through the room, reducing the "stuffiness". I can only apologise if you found this suggestion unhelpful.

We are conscious of our environmental responsibilities and, like many other responsible businesses, one of the many changes we have made is in the sourcing of energy efficient light bulbs. These are used in 95% of our light fittings. The light from these bulbs is not, in some cases, as bright as the old fashioned high energy bulbs but most of our guests find the lighting to be adequate. Had we been aware of your concerns over the lighting in your room during your stay we would have been able to organised additional lighting and again, it is a shame that we did not have the opportunity to do so.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write your review and hop we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to he Marygreen Manor in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We brought a friend here for her 60th birthday to have afternoon tea. The sandwiches, cakes and scones were delicious and plentiful. The hard working waiter was extremely helpful and our friend thoroughly enjoyed her treat.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in a room but were able to view one. Choose one of the ones on two levels. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 86karend86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you very much for posting your review.

We were delighted to read you had enjoyed your Afternoon tea here at The Marygreen Manor Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We enjoyed an overnight stay at the hotel in April. The rooms were very comfortable and extremely well-equipped. We stayed in the modern part of the hotel, some people may find the low ceilings and narrow staircases in the old part of the hotel a problem. The gardens are a lovely place to have a coffee in the morning. The breakfast was excellent and the staff in the dining room were very accommodating.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad that you had the chance to experience the delights of our tranquil garden! We hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
8 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
702 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marygreen Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marygreen Manor Hotel

Address: London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range: $95 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marygreen Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marygreen Manor Hotel is a fine example of early sixteenth-century architecture in Brentwood, Essex. Beautifully presented and centrally located, just minutes from M25/J28, with easy access to London & the Home Counties. Our Tudor Manor House offers a variety of accommodation from Luxurious 4 Poster Tudor Suites to our Delightful Courtyard Garden Rooms. Marygreen Manor is also home to the 2AA Rosette Tudors Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marygreen Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marygreen Manor Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel Brentwood, Essex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing